Skip to main content

Beloved Bookshelf


Grimspace by Ann Aguirre
The Chronicles of Prydain, The Westmark Trilogy by Lloyd Alexander
The Sugar Queen and The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen
The Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews
Pride & PrejudicePersuasion by Jane Austen
TitheValiantIronside by Holly Black
The Demon’s Lexicon Trilogy by Sarah Rees Brennan
The Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte
A Curse Dark as Gold by Elizabeth C. Bunce
Honey, Baby, Sweetheart by Deb Caletti
The Ender Series by Orson Scott Card
GracelingFire by Kristin Cashore
The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins
The Dark is Rising Sequence, Seaward by Susan Cooper
Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes by Chris Crutcher
The Warhorse of Esdragon Trilogy by Susan Dexter
A Tale of Two CitiesGreat Expectations by Charles Dickens
Middlemarch by George Eliot
Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr
Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard
An Abundance of KatherinesLooking for Alaska by John Green
Summer of My German SoldierMorning is a Long Time Coming by Bette Greene
Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines
Enna Burning by Shannon Hale
84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff
Grave Surprise, the Lily Bard Shakespeare series by Charlaine Harris
The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
A Company of SwansA Song for Summer by Eva Ibbotson
A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
The Fionavar Tapestry by Guy Gavriel Kay
The Beekeeper's ApprenticeA Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King
Animal Dreams by Barbara Kingsolver
The Mage’s Daughter by Lynn Kurland
The Heralds of Valdemar Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey
The Time Trilogy, the Austin Family Series, The Small RainAnd Both Were Young by Madeleine L'Engle
The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
Jane by April Lindner
How Green Was My Valley by Richard Llewellyn
Unsticky by Sarra Manning
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
The Sevenwaters series, The Bridei Chronicles by Juliet Marillier
Wicked Lovely, Ink Exchange, "Stopping Time" by Melissa Marr
The Riddlemaster Trilogy, The Changeling Sea by Patricia McKillip
The Hero & the CrownThe Blue SwordBeautyDeerskinThe Outlaws of SherwoodSpindle's End, Rose Daughter, Sunshine by Robin McKinley
TwilightThe Host by Stephenie Meyer
The Heroes Series by Moira J. Moore
Sabriel by Garth Nix
The Gryphon Trilogy by Andre Norton
Big Mouth & Ugly Girl by Joyce Carol Oates
Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliassotti
Bel Canto by Ann Patchett
The Secret Society Girl series by Diana Peterfreund
The Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce
The Sally Lockhart Trilogy by Philip Pullman
The Lady Julia Grey series by Deanna Raybourn
Lady of the ForestLady of Sherwood, The Sword-Dancer Saga by Jennifer Roberson
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell
ArchangelAngel-SeekerMystic & Rider by Sharon Shinn
Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith
The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
Madam, Will You Talk?The MoonspinnersThis Rough MagicNine Coaches WaitingThe Ivy TreeMy Brother Michael by Mary Stewart
The Agony and the Ecstasy by Irving Stone
The Queen's Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner
The Tillerman Cycle by Cynthia Voigt
Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess
A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb
Life Without FriendsThe Road HomeStand DownLong May She ReignRomance is a Wonderful Thing by Ellen Emerson White
A Room of One's OwnTo the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
I am the MessengerThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…