Skip to main content

Not a Bookstore in Sight

Awhile back I mentioned a work trip I took to Orlando and the ill-fated journey I made in search of a bookstore while there. My mission was simple. I had just finished the first book in Laura Lippman's Tess Monaghan series and was in desperate need of the sequel(s) to last me my final night in Orlando and for the duration of my trip home. Even though I didn't have access to a car, it seemed a simple enough task.

What follows still haunts me.
(Cue scary music)

Friday night, about 5:30pm
I stop in at the hotel desk to ask for directions to the nearest bookstore.

"A bookstore?" the clerk asks me blankly.
"Yes, a bookstore," I say, nodding and smiling gamely. "You know, a Barnes & Noble, a Borders. Anything will do, really."
"Um, no. I don't know of any bookstores in the area," she shakes her head several times.
Shoving down the beginnings of panic, I press on. "Perhaps a smaller, independent bookstore?"
"No, ma'am. Can I direct you to a shopping center? We have several large malls with lots of cool stores." She smiles for the first time, clearly on more comfortable ground.
"Might any of the malls have a bookstore in them?" I attempt to direct the conversation back to the topic at hand.
"Nope. None with bookstores," she says firmly. The look she gives me is now two parts annoyance, one part pity. I look around desperately but there is no one else to ask. Since it appears we have reached a stalemate, I ask her for a local map. She quickly hands me a folded, brightly colored brochure and motions for the next person in line to advance to the counter. I thank her for all her "help" and purchase a trolley pass.

Outside I take a deep breath and hop aboard the first wobbling, green vehicle that comes my way. I figure I'll keep my eyes peeled for anything that remotely resembles a store that might sell books.

Friday night, about 8:00pm
37 stops later, I spy a neon blue, partially obscured sign ending in "A-Million." I press my nose against the window glass, trying to see the rest of the sign. Could it possibly be a Books-A-Million? I've never actually been to one but have browsed their website online. The trolley continues another six blocks and then stops shakily for two smallish Englishwomen to climb on and collapse on the bench. I hop off and begin the trek back, back past the Denny's, back past the tattoo parlor, back past the self-proclaimed Largest Miniature Golf Course in Florida, which is surrounded by a lime green moat filled with what I am assured are "real, live gators." I stop to watch an elderly couple drop a couple quarters in a vending machine and toss their handfuls of peanuts in the moat. Nothing happens. The couple and I share looks of vague disappointment.

Two blocks later I reach a small strip mall that stretches away from me, the end disappearing into what appears to be a rather ominous, large dark field. Sure enough, the very last store sign reads "Books-A-Million" and I feel a small burst of energy, my quarry now in sight. Picking up the pace, I hike across the parking lot, stopping directly underneath the sign. There are no doors in sight. Just a bare cream stucco wall. At a bit of a loss, I wander around the corner and there, at the far end, is a small door. Sparing a nervous glance at the increasingly creepy, empty field next to me, I open the door and walk in.

The store is completely empty, the lighting a trifle dim. Two clerks sit reading behind the counter. Shocked looks cross their faces (presumably at the sight of an actual customer) as I walk cautiously up to them.
"Do you happen to have a mystery section?" I ask. The one looks at the other and then nods enthusiastically.
"We sure do! Just follow me. I'll show you right where it is." He takes off at a pretty good clip, glancing back occasionally to make sure I really am there. At this point I am very sure there is no way in hell they're going to have the books I'm looking for. There is just no way this mad journey will bear fruit. But lo and behold, I see one copy of each of the sequels on the bottom shelf. I gather them up quickly and beat it back to the counter. I place the four books next to the register and the second clerk looks at me admiringly.
"That's quite a stack you've got there." Indeed. Clearly he has never sold that many books at one time. I smile at him gently, grab my bag, and make a beeline for the door.

Friday night, about 10:30pm
I collapse on my hotel bed, too exhausted to even crack open the first of my prizes. A book clutched in my hand, I fall asleep and dream of lime green alligators chasing me through empty black fields. Not a bookstore in sight.

Comments

  1. Aw, that's so SAD! Not knowing where a bookstore is...

    ReplyDelete
  2. It was awful. *shudder*

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  4. You are hilarious! Jared thinks Malad is backward for not having a bookstore, but Orlando really should know better. I'm glad you found the books. The chase makes the prize so much better right?....or maybe you would rather have just been reading for those four hours.....hmmmm.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Seriously. I know there must be bookstores in Orlando but apparently they are kept very hush-hush. Or they're not visible to the naked eye.

    And someone really should open a bookstore in Malad!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I can't imagine! Even up here in backwoods Idaho, we have five bookstores in town.

    I was really worried reading your post that you might have accidently walked in to an "adult" bookstore! So glad you didn't have to endure that kind of trauma!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Lol. Well, I was certainly in the right part of town, Kristi! That would really have been the last straw.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I was just picturing an ambush of sorts. First, they lure the book-lovers to the only "bookstore" in town. Then, they throw them into the back of a van (with no windows). Then they spend the next 24 hours indoctrinating them in the ditsy, bimbo, mall-hopper ways. Once indoctrination is complete and the only phrases you can utter are "Fer sure!" and "That is SO TOTALLY CUUUTE!", you are released back in the wilds of Orlando. The city is safe, once again, from ...the reader.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Lol! I did feel like I was making those store clerks' week. I mean do people really only go to Orlando for beaches and theme parks? It was like I'd wandered into a designated book-free zone.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan