Skip to main content

A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson

What wordy, frothy fun Ibbotson's books are. Perfect going on a trip books. In fact, reading them makes me wish I was going somewhere, as her heroines always seem to be off somewhere new and exciting and exotic. But since I am not going anywhere (exotic or otherwise) in the near future, getting lost in them has proved a wonderful balm for my It's mid-March and Still Snowing blues.

Anna is a Russian countess whose family is forced to flee their wealth and their home after her father is killed in the Russian Revolution. Completely displaced, living in a flat in London with her former governess, she determines to support her ailing mother and younger brother by taking a job as a maid at the country estate of the Earl of Westerholme. Rupert, the young Earl, is recently home from the war, wounded and desperately trying to save the destitute estate he didn't want to inherit in the first place. You see, he promised his older brother just before he died that he would do anything in his power to keep the old place afloat. Ah, those pesky deathbed promises. They always come back to haunt you...

To avoid selling, Rupert proposes to a beautiful, very wealthy nurse he meets while recovering in hospital. Muriel is gorgeous, rich, and oh, just by the way, a passionate believer in eugenics--the philosophy of selective breeding in order to achieve a master race. That's right. The woman is Evil Incarnate and Poor Rupert doesn't know! As Muriel sinks her claws deeper and deeper into Westerholme, attempting to dispose of all of its lovely, offbeat, misfit inhabitants, Rupert and Anna strike up a friendship. Not fooled for a second by her maid disguise, Rupert is struck by how much Anna seems to love his home and family, how different it all looks when seen through her eyes. And, indeed, everyone from the other servants to the Earl's giant hound is enamored of Anna. But the path gets thornier and thornier as the wedding draws closer and pride and honor get in the way of everyone's happiness.

Ibbotson's books remind me of a cross between Anne of Green Gables and Jane Eyre, with a dash of Mary Stewart thrown in for good measure. A Countess Below Stairs has a wedding scene that had me laughing out loud. Best of all, though, it contains a truly wonderful rant delivered by the leading lady whilst standing in front of a formal dinner party, clutching a basket of rolls to her chest. Brilliant.

It also contains the best last line of Ibbotson's books yet.

Links
Books and Other Thoughts Review
Bookshelves of Doom Review
Bookwyrm Chrysalis Review

Comments

  1. I just got chills reading the summary you gave....sounds too good to be true....Anne of Green Gables, Mary Stewart, and Jane Eyre....You just named three of my top ten of all time books/authors....must read!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Definitely give it a shot, Liz. Her books (and characters) are easy to love.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yay, they have both of her books that you reviewed at the library! I just got the kids to sleep and I just spent an hour doing some major searching for books . I finally tracked down all of the books in the "President's Daughter" series. Between you, the library, some random book seller on the internet, and a new addition coming out in July that I just pre-ordered, I have all four books! By August I am set! I also have on hold Beastly and Song of the Sparrow at the library; plus my copies of the Lynn Kurland books arrived in the mail this week; and I got the 4th book in Mary Stewart's Merlin/Arthur Saga at the library......WHERE TO BEGIN......I guess I felt like I needed options for spring break next week!.....NOT ENOUGH TIME IN THE DAY! See you soon!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved this book and I enjoyed reading your review! Thanks for the link. I linked back to yours in my review, too (I wrote that one back before I started doing that). :-)

    Oh, and congratulations, by the way - I love the ultrasound picture!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow, Liz. That is a tough choice. I'm so glad you'll get to read the President's Daughter series straight through. Can't wait to hear about that. Hm, for now I'd say start the first Kurland. Either that or Song of the Sparrow. Man, I loved that book.

    Darla, you are welcome and thanks for linking to my review! Isn't Ibbotson great?

    ReplyDelete
  6. LOVED IT. I would have liked a little more contact between hero and heroine, but other than that, it was wonderful. You are right the characters are easy to love. I haven't laughed out loud while reading a book in a long time....some of the characters are hilarious! It isn't very often that I fall in love with so many characters in such a short time.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm so glad you liked it. I know what you mean, too. I rarely laugh out loud and when I do it's delightful. A Song for Summer is that way as well. So many wonderful, zany characters.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love Eva Ibbotson's books! They're a wonderful mix of charmingly funny and touching and they always hit the spot exactly right.

    Just bored at work and flipping through some of your old posts, I stumbled upon this one and I had to gush a little :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…