Skip to main content

One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost

I was excited for this sequel for many reasons: Bones, Bones, oh, and Bones. Also, because it takes place a rather shocking Four Years after Halfway to the Grave and, I have to say, I like that Jeaniene Frost was willing to take that big a leap with just her second book. Most urban fantasy series books take place right on on each other's feverish heels, yet the readers have waited sometimes a year for the second installment, and occasionally I find myself wanting more time to have passed for the characters as well. Add a little more gravitas to the situation. Like we've all grown up a little in the interim.

One Foot in the Grave starts out in the middle of Cat Crawfield's new life as a federal agent working for a little known department of Homeland Security specializing in vampire eradication. Having forced herself (for his safety) to leave Bones and her former life behind, Cat has become Cristine Russell and spent the last four years literally consumed by her work, training up a team of vampire slayers lean and mean enough to make Bones proud. Unfortunately, someone seems to have discovered her secret and is leaving clues around her old stomping grounds. Cat and her team follow the clues home to find someone old and powerful has put a price on her head and all the undead bounty hunters are coming to play.

I definitely liked the premise of this story and the guys on Cat's team are fun, interesting characters who I hope will stick around throughout the series. The scene where Bones and Cat see each other for the first time in four years was just as delicious as I hoped it would be. And, who are we kidding? Any page with Bones on it is a good one. Make that, a great one. What I needed was more from Cat. She doesn't seem to have grown at all in the last four years. And while I understand she's sort of been hiding from a lot things she doesn't want to face, she's still got this great team of guys who will walk over hot coals for her, and (when he comes back) a protector and lover who will do anything to make her happy, and she still seems to spend most of her time drinking, fighting, swearing, and whining. All in slightly too extreme quantities for me to buy. That's not the Cat I remember. She's Cat sans the the sweetness and sense of humor that made her so endearing in the first book and that made me think she deserved the awesomeness that is Bones. Oodles of action (fighting and otherwise) seem to dominate this story when I wanted more character development and the Cat I remember. Maybe Bones feels the same way...Hopefully, we'll both find what we're looking for in the next volume, At Grave's End, due out in January.

Links
Darque Review
Dear Author Review
The Good, the Bad, the Unread Review
The Happily Ever After Review
Urban Fantasy Land Interview

Comments

  1. Hi Angie!
    This is my first time visiting your blog and I'll definitely be back, since I think we've got a few favorite authors in common. I hopped over here on a link from Urban Fantasy Land for your review of Meyer's new book The Host. I'm starting to read that this week.

    Anyway, I love your review of One Foot in the Grave. I, too, hope Cat does a bit more soul searching in the very near future. I would really love to see her thoughts and actions be less self serving. I am optimistic that she is on that path, though. And if not, I hope Bones and her team start to teach her otherwise!

    Bones definitely is the driving force behind this series' success. He's one of my favorite heroes these days.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh! And thanks for the link to my review. What a neat surprise it was to discover that here! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi Christine! You're most welcome. I'm glad you found your way here. I enjoy your blog as well and found my way there looking for reviews of One Foot in the Grave. Urban Fantasy Land's review round-ups are great, aren't they? I've found many cool places that way.

    I agree, even though I was a bit disappointed in Cat this time around, I'm optimistic for the next book and her further adventures with her team and Bones. Love me some Bones...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan