Skip to main content

Windfall by Rachel Caine

I think this was my favorite Weather Warden book so far. Having washed her hands of the Wardens, Jo is back in Florida working a pay-the-bills job as a "weather girl" with a local TV station. The hilarious part is she doesn't even get to predict the weather. She just stands around in nightmarish costumes (picture huge foam suns with face cut-outs and bulky clouds dripping glitter rain), forced to grit her teeth and smile as the schmaltzy-beyond-belief weather man struts his stuff. Fortunately she has a new friend in the feisty Cherise--the petite and beautiful weather girl who drives a Mustang, gets to wear flattering bikinis, and never gets buckets of water dumped on her.

Jo's carefully laid plan of flying under the supernatural radar while trying to figure out how to revive David gets blown to smithereens when her estranged sister shows up on her doorstep in need of a place to stay at the same time as the local Wardens come after her for supposedly tampering with the weather in a Big Bad sort of way. Meanwhile, nobody can find Jonathan, the free Djinn are starting to form into factions, and the whole conflict seems to be quickly ratcheting up the scale from debacle to outright civil war.

The great thing about Windfall is the new characters that are introduced. I loved Cherise and I really liked Jo's sister Sarah. Together they bring a human quality to the story that seemed to be lacking in the last two books and that, I think, Jo desperately needs if she's going to stay afloat. It's good to know there are people who care about her and who will be there when she needs a friend or someone to help ransack the dump for a missing bottle. Four books in and Rachel Caine continues to keep the tension taut, the stakes high, and Jo's wardrobe awesome. On to the next. I'm so glad I found this series after six books were already out...

Links
Readers Read Review
Word Nerd Review
The Written Word Series Review

Comments

  1. Anonymous2:26 PM

    I really loved the first books in this series, but after a while, the cliffhanger endings started getting on my nerves!

    You're lucky you get to read them all in one go :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Seriously. If I had a long wait in between, I'm not sure I'd be able to maintain my enthusiasm. Particularly since, as you say, they tend to end mid-crisis and the overarching conflict is so huge.

    As it is, I'm able to down them in big bibliocandy gulps.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I totally understand where Li is coming from!

    But I *still* love this series--it is one of my top 3 UF series'. Each book raises the stakes, and they do get increasingly heartwrenching to read...but I keep coming back for more! At this rate, Angie, you'll be completely caught up for Gale Force later this year!!

    And I agree, Cherise and Sarah are wonderful (if somewhat frustrating) characters. And I totally love that Jo has an eye for clothes and designers--I can't remember where Miu Miu flats come in, but I believe it's the next book. Wonderful!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yep, love the fashion talk. Of course, it does make me want to go out and buy myself a whole new shoe wardrobe. It's been sooo long since I've bought new shoes.

    So Thea, what are your other 2 top UF series'?

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh shoes. I love looking at them and trying them on, but I feel so terrible spending a bunch of money on pretty kicks I hardly ever wear! Although since it's warming up, it's about time to get some new pretty sandals...hmm...

    My other top 2 have to be Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson series, and Kim Harrison's Rachel Morgan books. Guh. I love every single book for both!

    So...are you done with Firestorm yet? :P

    ReplyDelete
  6. I completely agree about Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson series. That would have to be my top UF pick.

    I actually haven't read any Kim Harrison yet.

    I'm just about done with Firestorm!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Mercy Thompson is just plain awesome. I highly, highly recommend the Rachel Morgan books--I discovered them this year and read through all six rapid-fire style. Mercy used to be my favorite UF series...until Rachel Morgan!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan