Skip to main content

Games of Command by Linnea Sinclair

I decided to follow up my first Linnea Sinclair book (Gabriel's Ghost) with Games of Command and I am so glad I did. What a fun, fun book this is. I inhaled it over the weekend and wished there was a sequel lying around somewhere when I was done. Games of Command follows main characters Captain Tasha Sebastian and Admiral Branden Kel-Paten as well as secondary characters Dr. Eden Fynn and Captain Jace Serafino. As in Gabriel's Ghost, the two main characters have a history from the get-go and I love that. Makes me feel like I've stepped into something real and multifaceted, like the characters didn't just begin to exist when I opened the book but have instead been living their lives just fine without me and are now generously letting me peek in on what's going on.

When their respective employers form an alliance, the former nemeses find themselves working together on the same ship. Tasha and Kel-Paten both have a few very potent secrets to hide, from each other and the Alliance. But just when they think they've reached a professional balance of don't ask, don't tell, notorious pirate Jace Serafino lands on board the Vax, injured and fairly leaking information that could expose a number of people and set off a few nasty time bombs. Add to that the fact that Kel-Paten is a biocybe (half human/half machine), Serafino is a telepath, Tasha is a former mercenary, and the games are on. The point of view alternates between the four lead characters and this helped shape the flow of the story and propel it forward, giving the reader some insight into each characters' motivations, hopes, and flaws leading up to the conclusion.

I liked Gabriel's Ghost, but I loved Games of Command. A big reason was because Tasha and Kel-Paten are both good guys, completely and compulsively likable. He is not a reformed scoundrel, she is not a heartless opportunist. They're both simply in over their heads trying to claw their way out of the mess they've stumbled into. They enjoy taunting each other to a degree (naturally) but there is little to no run-of-the-mill bickering inserted just to show how insufferably domineering he is and how incredibly sassy she is. And that was utterly refreshing. I cared about them, wanted the best for them, and they didn't let me down by being petty or stupid. Reading this book was just plain Fun. Definitely a keeper.

Links
Dear Author Review
Janicu Review
Nalini Singh Review
Rosario's Reading Journal Review

Comments

  1. I'm with you on this one. A lot of people squee over Gabriel's Ghost, but I loved this one more too. Kel-Paten is so fabulous. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review, Angie! I haven't read this one yet, but I have it ready and waiting for me. I'm very excited to get crackin' now!

    And I'm with you on the liking it when characters have established relationships and lives before a book starts--it definitely lends a realistic feel to the story :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. That's right, Jennie. Kel-Paten is the fab.

    Can't wait to read your reaction, Thea. This is a lick-the-sugar-off-your-fingers treat of a book. And, yes, I love Linnea Sinclair's established relationships and that shivery feeling I get when I realize, "Twelve years? This has been going on for twelve freaking years?!"

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is another I've missed? *grin* Lovely review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks, Kimberly. I highly recommend starting your Linnea Sinclair binge with this one. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I loved this one too, just finished reading it. I just wanted Kel-Paten to be loved so much.

    But the best for me, was how what seemed 3 different storylines all came together in the end.

    Excellent book. Linnea Sinclair only gets better and better - I am going to read Shades of Dark and Accidental Goddess this week.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oooh, you have a copy of Shades of Dark already?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yeeeeees ; ) An ARC that fell on my lap.
    I started it last night and my heart is half-breaking already over Sully. This woman could not be more awesome. .

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan