Skip to main content

Thin Air by Rachel Caine

I can't believe this is the last Weather Warden book currently in print. For awhile there it started to feel like there was a limitless supply at my fingertips. But now I am forced to wait until August to continue the series and find out what happens next for Jo, David, and Lewis. I have decided Lewis needs someone. And I'm really not quite certain it should be Rahel. I think she could really put the hurt on good ole Triple-threat (all powerful, yet surprisingly fragile) Lewis. In any event, my hopes for the upcoming Gale Force include someone to help ground Lewis and some time and space for Jo and David to talk and decompress. I mean, when you're both so busy throwing yourselves in front of oncoming traffic to save each other's lives, you don't really get enough down time together, you know?

Thin Air was a refreshing change of pace from the rest of the series. Her memory (and complete identity) stolen by a demon who now looks just like her, Jo wakes up in the middle of the woods with no idea who she is or how she got there. Lewis and David quickly turn up and attempt to jog her memory. But nothing seems familiar to her and she quickly feels very ill equipped to deal with the pretty heavy emotions that start swirling around once she realizes her relationships with these two guys go way back and that it's particularly painful for them (especially David) to watch her not remember any of it.

I liked this hard reset we got on Joanne's character. In many ways it revealed what kind of person she really is when the layers of burden, grief, and guilt were removed and she was able to respond afresh to the chaos around her and the various people trying to save/love/manipulate her. She responded very well, IMO, and often very humorously. Such as when her internal dialogue runs to the, "Good grief, was I really that kind of girl?" variety. I was particularly taken with the direction her relationship with Kevin takes as that storyline has remained compelling. I hope it continues on in the next volume and that the repercussions of the events in Thin Air carry over and aren't neatly brushed aside in favor of more Utter Peril. This was a great installment and I look forward to the next.

Links
Darque Review

Comments

  1. Anonymous2:00 PM

    Now you know how the rest of us feel :-)

    Actually, I was pleasantly surprised by how Thin Air ended, i.e. it had an ending!

    And I like the phrase "hard reset". LOL.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree. It had a recognizable ending and I appreciated that.

    I felt like Jo needed a break from everything but couldn't see how she'd get one. The loss of memory served that purpose nicely. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great review Angie--and I agree with you and Li. I liked the reset to Jo's character, the memory loss, and the ending that worked.

    Like you though, I'm slightly worried that this volume might be seen as a water-break of sorts and then pushed aside as helter-skelter action resumes. That would be a shame...but I'm optimistic.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Me, too. Got my fingers crossed and everything.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hi Angie...I bet it was hard to stop and read other books once you started this series. *grin* Thanks for the DR link. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. You bet, Kimberly. It was hard. Everything else felt a bit like swimming through molasses.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan