Skip to main content

Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

With the release of Cry Wolf (the first in a new series), Patricia Briggs fans can now look forward to two Briggs books coming out per year. A Mercy Thompson in the winter and an Alpha and Omega in the summer. So. Very. Awesome. After inhaling the original "Alpha and Omega" short story in On the Prowl last year, I could hardly wait to follow Anna and Charles's story in full-length book form and now, having finished it, I can honestly say it was a treat.

Picking up immediately after the events of "Alpha and Omega," Anna finds herself and her few belongings bundled up and on her way to Montana with a wounded Charles and his father, the enigmatic Bran, otherwise known as the Marrok, aka leader of the entire werewolf population of North America. Nervous and unsure of just what she's gotten herself into, Anna suddenly finds herself living at Charles's house, attending werewolf funerals, and embroiled in the same kind of wolf politics she was assiduously kept out of during her time with the Chicago pack. Unsurprisingly, it's one step forward, two steps back for Anna as she attempts to settle into her new life and decide whether or not she even wants to carve out a place for herself with Charles--a still waters run deep sort of man who is reserved, doesn't like crowds, but is also the Marrok's chief assassin.

Anna is a very different breed of heroine from Mercy. After being changed, she was never given the chance to get her bearings and accept her new life. The cool thing about being an Omega (something she is only just beginning to figure out about herself) is she has all of the protective instincts of an Alpha, without any of the violence. This makes her strong and able to influence the mood of every wolf around her. The lame thing is that without those violent instincts, she can be taken advantage of and manipulated to a rather spectacular degree. I liked that this first book didn't rush things. There is plenty of ground left to cover as far as Anna's untapped abilities go and whether or not she and Charles will be able to bridge the still vast gulf between them. I loved the extra time we got to spend with Bran--one of the most interesting characters in this world. I'm looking forward to more on his background and his mate. Because, even though she's heinous, I feel particularly sorry for Leah. It's no kind of life she's got right now and I find myself harboring a little hope for her and her Marrok.

Lastly, Cry Wolf just happens to include a sneak peak of the first chapter of Bone Crossed--the fourth Mercy Thompson book. Did I skip to the back and read it first before delving into Cry Wolf? Maybe...

Links
AvidBookReader Review & Interview
Ciaralira Review
Darque Review
Dear Author Review
Kicks and Giggles Review
The Book Smugglers Review

Comments

  1. Great review, I know you were anxiously awaiting this release. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I was utterly chuffed to find my local B&N had put their display out a week early.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agree about Leah and Bran. There has to be a story there, and an HEA eventually. I feel bad for Leah - it's obvious she's miserable, though she handles it poorly by being a biyatch. If she was a complete loser I doubt Bran would have mated her. I want PB to write them a love story. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I agree 100%, Ciara. I know Bran went looking for someone he wouldn't fall in love with to be his mate. But I think he's come to care about her and he deserves to be happy as well! I hope we get more good stuff on them in future A&O books.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review Angie! As usual.

    I also liked seeing more of Bran and his sad, nasty mate Leah. I dunno if I want a love story/romance between them though...I'd like to see more of their relationship, but keeping the sort of bitter edge to it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh, I agree, Thea. I like the bitterness. I'm just intrigued by the fact that they've stayed together so long and I wonder how their wolves chose each other in the first place.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I need to go to the bookstore and get a copy of this - don't know why I haven't yet, I've been waiting eagerly.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Run right out and get it, Liv. I'm anxious to hear what you think. I admire Patricia Briggs for taking on such a different heroine from Mercy and making it work.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great review, Angie. I'm a little over halfway through with Cry Wolf and I'm really really enjoying it. I was blown away by "Alpha and Omega" and I'm loving the progress of the relationship between Charles and Anna. I also agree with everyone's observations of the dynamics between Bran and Leah... but I think I need to finish the novel before I comment more on them.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Glad you're loving it, Christine. I enjoyed the progression of their relationship so much, I wanted more and more. Guess that's what the sequel's for...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…