Skip to main content

Mine

I love it when people post pictures of their bookshelves on their blogs. The glimpse I get into other booklovers' homes is a bit of the delightful as I see books on their shelves that rest on mine as well, how worn (read: loved) each book is, the multiple editions of the same book side by side, and the different ways in which they are stacked. So when DH took these pix tonight, I figured I'd go ahead and show you mine. I have to mention that the shelves themselves were a "housewarming" gift from my mother-in-law when we moved into this house. Yeah. I still haven't found a way to thank her. Not sure if I ever will.

Comments

  1. They're beautiful! I can't believe they were a gift from your MIL. I completely understand not finding a way to thank her. How awesome.

    Thanks so much for sharing. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. LOVE the bookshelves. Exactly what I wish I had. Size, color, lighting ... everything! I don't know, I'm thinking giving your MIL a beautiful baby granddaughter is a great 'thank you.' ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh wow - they're perfect! And you still have space on the right to expand your collection :-)

    Thanks for putting the pic up.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous10:24 AM

    Wow, those are absolutely beautiful! When I first saw the picture I thought it was at a small bookstore or something like that. I officially love your MIL and wish I get one like her. Are all those yellow books old Nancy Drew books?

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm so in love with your shelving. I've asked my husband for an actual library in the new house we're building, a whole room of shelves. I want all my books in once place. And I want them organized by author / title for a change.

    You're really lucky!

    ReplyDelete
  6. That's great, Angie! What an amazing gift. And for me, fun to look at the picture and recognize titles. What is that series between the Nancy Drews (I think) and the Trixie Beldens (I'm sure)??

    ReplyDelete
  7. WOW. Angie I'm envious, your bookcase is gorgeous!!!!!! And I love all the Nancy Drews on there! :)

    And oh so organized too! My books are everywhere. Corners, the hallway shelf, on the floor of the bedroom...yeeeaaaah *blushes* :)

    Hmm, I feel an Ikea trip coming on!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Whoa...now that is a fabulous set of shelves! I'm going to call hubby in here and say...See, THAT'S what I want! lol

    ReplyDelete
  9. Are those shelves from IKEA? Because they look suspiciously like the shelves we have in our living room, except darker in color (similar lights, too!) LOVE them!

    You have WAY more books than me, though!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks guys. I'm more than a bit in love with them myself. Yes, they're IKEA shelves with the extension shelf on top. DH bolted them to the wall cause the slight teetering was making me nervous.

    The yellow section is indeed the original Nancy Drews and the white ones in between those and the Trixie Beldens, I have to admit, are the first 100 Nancy Drew casefiles. Somehow I couldn't get rid of them. Guess it's because the time I was reading them was a pretty good one in my memory.

    Right now the books are organized alphabetically by author's last name and it goes from fiction to poetry/drama to nonfiction to reference. I've tried to leave a little room here and there for expansion but we'll see.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Lovely. Just lovely.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Fabulous shelves! They're the size of my living space.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Lol. Yeah, I never thought I'd have a room to do something like this in. It's just as awesome as I hoped it would be. Even if the library has to share it's space with the laundry. ;)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…