Skip to main content

Silent in the Sanctuary by Deanna Raybourn

Given how much I loved Silent in the Grave, I felt a tingle of thrill and anxiety as I cracked open the sequel. The first book had what I consider to be a "perfect" ending. I couldn't have asked for more and wouldn't have wished it different in any way. Such endings are rare and to find one at the end of the first book in a series is rarer still. So, could Silent in the Sanctuary live up to its predecessor? I really, really hoped it could.

The second volume picks up several months after the end of the first. Lady Julia is on vacation in Italy, attempting to recover from the traumatic events of her investigation into her husband's death by basking in the Tuscan sun. Her recuperation is cut short, however, when she and her brothers (the delightfully named Plum and Lysander) receive a summons home to England for the Christmas holidays. At the last minute, they decide to take along a young Italian count who has become a friend to all three, but who also seems to have formed a rather strong attachment to Julia. Hmm. Back in England, all of Julia's hilarious and quirky family members are present and accounted for while a few unexpected Christmas guests round out the mix, including a few cousins, an uncle, a dubious clergyman, and one Mr. Nicholas Brisbane.

What follows reminded me of a wonderfully late night game of Clue. All the players are charming and suspect in turn and the murder even takes place in the sanctuary with the candlestick! And it remains Julia's and Brisbane's task to ferret out the identity of the killer. May I just say, I continue to love these two reluctant partners. Julia, in all her incorrigible intrepidity, serves as the perfect foil for Brisbane and his ruthless pursuit of the murderer. This second volume includes a few more tantalizing insights into the darkness that is Brisbane, as well as some cracking good repartee between our two lead characters. I went in with the highest of expectations and Silent in the Sanctuary more than lived up to them. This series is right on track to become an all-time favorite. Seriously, it has everything you could ask for. Charmingly dry-humored heroine? Check. Tortured and broody hero? Check. Humor, danger, genuine creepiness? Check, check, check. I'm recommending them left and right and can't wait to get my hands on the third installment, Silent on the Moor, due out in March.

Links
A Girl Walks Into a Bookstore Review
Bell Literary Reflections Review
Dear Author Review
Material Witness Review
Tempting Persephone Review

Comments

  1. I loved Silent in the Grave but haven't got to this one yet. I do have it, so I really should move it up the pile.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I was delighted with it, Marg. If you loved the first one, I imagine you'll enjoy this one as well.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I loved this book so much! Julia and Brisbane have such delicious interactions. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. They really do. Anytime they find themselves alone discussing the case, it's a guaranteed delicious scene.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks to you, I picked up Silent in the Grave this weekend! (Oh and Hunger Games since I *never* win giveaways, LOL)

    Can't wait to get started. Thanks for the great reviews and this rec :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooh, I think you will love Silent in the Grave. Let me know!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …