Skip to main content

Borrower of the Night by Elizabeth Peters

I've been hearing about Elizabeth Peters' Vicky Bliss and Amelia Peabody books for quite awhile now and for some reason just haven't found my way to reading any of them until now. I noticed these re-issues of the Vicky Bliss series and decided to pick up the first one and see.

Vicky is an art historian with a delightful sense of humor and a certain dry acceptance of her statuesque stature and tendency to intimidate those around her. When we first meet Vicky, she is teaching at a college in the Midwest and maintaining a sort of on-again off-again relationship with her colleague Tony Lawrence. Tony is a hapless, hopeless, skinny version of Vicky who, failing to get her to marry him, decides he'll settle for besting her professionally. Ha. The two soon find themselves racing each other to Germany in search of a medieval artifact presumed missing for centuries.  

Here's the thing. I liked Vicky and Tony right off the bat. I liked the whole premise for the story. It seemed a recipe for mad medieval excitement. But once they got to Germany, things seemed to slow down for me. I'm not sure why. Blankenhagen was cool. Schmidt was intriguing. But Tony began to pall quickly and, after one too many of his petty outbursts, I just wanted Vicky to solve the dang mystery and leave these jokers in the dust. Which I'm assuming she does in the future. In fact, I'm kind of getting the feeling that I'll enjoy the rest of the books in the series more than this one. And I hear tell of someone named Smythe. He is someone I would enjoy meeting, no? So for all of you Vicky fans and afficionados out there, tell me what to do. Was my reaction to this one just a fluke? Should I get the next one and give it a try and see? I'm in need of your advice. Cause I really wanted to like this series.

Links

Comments

  1. Definitely give the second book a go. I think the later books are better but the second one will give you more of an idea of whether to continue or not.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The second is soooo much better. John Smythe is definitely a character worth meeting! Read on. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous12:14 PM

    IIRC, this is almost like a prequel to the series, and the latter ones are better.

    Also, while I like Vicky Bliss, I completely adore Amelia Peabody - so would recommend trying them as well!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous4:41 AM

    Keep going, keep going! The first one is weak, especially if you haven't read the others. (My fave is #4, closely followed by #2).

    And I second li -- the Amelia Peabody books are super.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous9:01 AM

    hey, i've really been enjoying reading your dissection of all these fantastic books (btw, i completely agree and weep with you on the subject of breaking dawn....it was shamefull) and i wanted to make a suggestion, from one avid reader to another.
    a few of my favorite books are pretty obscure, such as The Riddle Master by Patricia A. McKillip.
    and then i have those timeless favorites like the Charlie Bone or Harry Potter series.
    but to be truthful, i don't know what i would do without the Dresden Files. it was made into a TV show for a short season on SciFi, and it was a good show but it hardly did Harry Dresden justice.
    just to get you interested, its about Harry Dresden, a professional wizard. and by professional, i mean that is exactly how he makes a living. he is the only wizard listed in the Chicago phone book. mostly he does little jobs, like cleansing houses of ghostly spirits and finding lost objects, but as a side income (which is steadily taking over his business) he works for Karrin Murphy, head of Chicago's special investigations unit. through most of the beginning books Murphy has no idea that harry is actually a wizard, because she's not magical and is expected to be kept in the dark.
    along the way, though, harry is helped out by his talking skull, Bob; his giant cat, Mister; and various magical creatures that pop up through the series, such as Mab the Queen of the Winter court of faeries (Sidhe), an assassin, Thomas from the white court of vampires (there are three courts in the USA, and the white court feeds of emotional energy such as blood. thomas himself feeds off lust ... mm, sexy succubus vampire) a knight of the cross (i.e. knight of god) and a fallen angel.
    this series is RICH with the folklore of every culture, and its so incredibly well written and devised it will stick with you forever. i think there are about 7 books in the series right now, starting with Storm Front and ending with Small Favor, but its The Dresden Files by Tim Butcher.
    i really hope you enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks, guys. I will definitely pick up the next one. And I'll have to find the first Amelia Peabody as well.

    Thanks, Niobe! The Riddlemaster books are old favorites of mine as well. Definitely my favorite McKillips. I have heard of the Harry Dresden books and your description has definitely shot them up to the top of my list. I'll be sure to let you know when I read the first one. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've seen a few reviews of this author recently, i'm leaning toward the Peabody ones.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan