Skip to main content

Shh...Enjoy!

It's fall once more and I'm feeling that familiar cozy, the leaves are falling outside and it's time to read Sunshine again feeling. I tend to get fairly nostalgic when autumn comes around and find myself reliving past holidays, getogethers, trips, and wanting to reread old favorites no matter what enticing stack of new books I have on my nightstand. The other day I found myself remembering one day in particular a couple of years ago...

I wandered into the bookstore, fingers crossed. It had been an entire year since Sharon Shinn's Mystic and Rider came out and I was desperate to get my hands on the sequel The Thirteenth House. It was due out in a week and therefore not available online or in stores anywhere yet. But I'd checked this particular bookstore's stock online and it was listed as being In Stock. Oh, how I love those two words. So I drove down and wandered in, fingers crossed. After checking the shelves to no avail, I approached a tall, lanky, unsuspecting bookseller. 

"I'm looking for a book. Your computers show that you have it In Stock but I can't find it on the shelves," I said pleasantly.

"Let me check for you, miss," he said smiling, and then proceeded to the back room to check while I stood there grinning because he'd called me "miss." Some days I'm easily amused that way.

He returned a couple of minutes later with That Look on his face. The one booksellers wear when they have the book you're looking for but aren't able to sell it to you. A complicated mixture of comprehension, regret, and pity. They understand. They feel your pain. But you're still going home empty handed. 

"I'm sorry, miss. We have the book In Stock but we can't put it out on the shelves until its
 release date." He dressed That Look up with a sympathetic head tilt. 

I refused to be placated.

"So you're telling me you have the book but you won't sell it to me." I stated in quiet disbelief.

"That's right." No sign of the head tilt now.

"But I--," I flounder. "It's just sitting back there..."

"I'm really very--."

"Sorry. I know, " I finished and turned around and walked out empty handed. 

The following day I found myself back at the bookstore glumly wandering the aisles. When what to my wondering eyes did appear but a copy of The Thirteenth House sitting slyly on the shelf where it hadn't been before. Holding my breath, I reached out and silently slid it out. Afraid of being caught, I glanced quickly around and then opened it up. Stuck on the inside flap was this Post-It Note:


Tall, lanky, unsuspecting bookseller, it's two years later and I still love you.

Comments

  1. awww...what a great surprise that had to be. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. That was really nice of him. A great surprise, indeed.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ha! That makes me so happy!

    ReplyDelete
  4. That is so sweet!! Sounds like the beginning of a great romance. Did you marry him?

    ReplyDelete
  5. What an awesome story--and bookseller! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. If only all booksellers were like that. Great story.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous6:02 PM

    That's so cool!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I forgot about that! He understood you, and knew you would come back.

    ReplyDelete
  9. What a lovely story! :-) So sweet and nice.

    ReplyDelete
  10. So it really happened? Dang I thought you were making that up.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Yup. True story.

    Christine, I didn't marry him as I was already married at the time. Could have been the beginning of a beautiful friendship but, alas, I never saw him again.

    ReplyDelete
  12. This is the coolest thing ever.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th