Skip to main content

Best of 2008

Once again, on the eve of 2009, I've put together my best shot at a Best Books of '08 list. I whittled last year's list down to 12 books--one for each month of the year. This year it was a bit harder. I managed to get it down to the Round of 16 and gave up there. So here they are in all their cozy wonderfulness.

Best of 2008
(in order of publication)


* indicates a debut author

Comments

  1. I love Patricia Briggs!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay for Briggs! She is my very favorite UF writer. Period.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agree with several of those - and you have to try some of Briggs trad fantasy. It's even better than her UF.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Totally seeing Grimspace and Wicked Game on multiple lists. This pleases me because they made my list too! :)

    And - I really *have* to read Lisa Shearin, because I see her rec'ed a lot, but I've never read her books.

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Host was wonderful. Not sure how I'm gonna feel when she puts out the sequal.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Liviana, I actually read Dragon Bones before discovering the Mercy books. I need to find a copy of Dragon Blood now and finish that set.

    Janicu, I'm glad to hear someone else loved Wicked Game. I thought it was wicked good. ;)

    Princess Allie, I feel exactly the same way. I liked how The Host ended just fine. It doesn't need more and it seems like I'm not as big a fan of her sequels as I am her first volumes. Hm...

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous5:48 AM

    "The Host" is still sitting in my TBR pile. I think "Breaking Dawn" put me off more Meyer for a while - though it was a bit like car-crash telly (or reading), I just had to keep reading to see what was going to happen next.

    There's quite a few in your Best of list that I definitely have to pick up in 2009!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Li, I know what you mean. I'm actually really glad I read The Host before Breaking Dawn because I'm not sure I'd have been able to read it post-BD. I do recommend it, though, when you feel recovered. ;-)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan