Skip to main content

Best of 2008

Once again, on the eve of 2009, I've put together my best shot at a Best Books of '08 list. I whittled last year's list down to 12 books--one for each month of the year. This year it was a bit harder. I managed to get it down to the Round of 16 and gave up there. So here they are in all their cozy wonderfulness.

Best of 2008
(in order of publication)


* indicates a debut author

Comments

  1. I love Patricia Briggs!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay for Briggs! She is my very favorite UF writer. Period.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agree with several of those - and you have to try some of Briggs trad fantasy. It's even better than her UF.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Totally seeing Grimspace and Wicked Game on multiple lists. This pleases me because they made my list too! :)

    And - I really *have* to read Lisa Shearin, because I see her rec'ed a lot, but I've never read her books.

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Host was wonderful. Not sure how I'm gonna feel when she puts out the sequal.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Liviana, I actually read Dragon Bones before discovering the Mercy books. I need to find a copy of Dragon Blood now and finish that set.

    Janicu, I'm glad to hear someone else loved Wicked Game. I thought it was wicked good. ;)

    Princess Allie, I feel exactly the same way. I liked how The Host ended just fine. It doesn't need more and it seems like I'm not as big a fan of her sequels as I am her first volumes. Hm...

    ReplyDelete
  7. "The Host" is still sitting in my TBR pile. I think "Breaking Dawn" put me off more Meyer for a while - though it was a bit like car-crash telly (or reading), I just had to keep reading to see what was going to happen next.

    There's quite a few in your Best of list that I definitely have to pick up in 2009!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Li, I know what you mean. I'm actually really glad I read The Host before Breaking Dawn because I'm not sure I'd have been able to read it post-BD. I do recommend it, though, when you feel recovered. ;-)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …