Skip to main content

Gobsmacked

Please accept my apologies for the unusual pause in our regularly scheduled programming here. I seem to have read Jellicoe Road followed by a double chaser of The Thief and The Queen of Attolia. Am now sitting here gobsmacked at the excellence. Reviews to follow just as soon as I recover the power of speech. 

Comments

  1. Told you told you told you! Can you beleive it's taken you this long to read the Attolia books?! And just wait till you read KING.

    And think about the fact that the next one is IN THE WORKS.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Seriously. There's no excuse for me. I am in LOVE with these books. I'm 25 pages into KING and am having trouble concentrating on anything else.

    When, when, when will the fourth one be out?

    ReplyDelete
  3. I was just about to say, WAIT until you read King of Attolia! Aren't they just unspeakably brilliant?

    And the fourth one will be out in 2010! No news on the title yet, but all the MWT fans on the "Sounis" community (http://sounis.livejournal.com/) are abuzz about it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Unspeakably, RJ. I am such a fangirl.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Indeed, Winter 2010!

    We're a ways away from galleys, yet, but I'll send you one when they're done!

    ReplyDelete
  6. i also jumped in to say you should read king of attolia and as impossible as it sounds i'd think it's even better than the queen (though the thief is just perfect and nothing can be better than that though the king IS as good!!)

    and also the other two marchetta books are different from the jellicoe road, i thought very different writing style and nothing like the jellicoe road (that it i thought) though very good. try saving francesca first, i think.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Katayoun, I am 175 pages into KING now and you are absolutely right. It's superb.

    I did get the impression Marchetta's others weren't the same thing as JELLICOE. I picked up a copy of SAVING FRANCESCA at the library so we'll see how it goes.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wow! I know I'm late to comment on this post, but I just got so excited to see you so gobsmacked with these latest reads! Yay!

    Interestingly, I recently took The Thief off our bookshelf to read for the YA Reading Challenge I'm doing. Haven't started it yet, but will soon! I'm so excited to see you loved it and reviewed it. I'm off to read your review, now...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Christine, hie thee to The Thief and don't look back. Me, I'm still fumbling around uselessly for something to follow these with.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm currently reading the truth about forever by Sarah Dessen per my teen's adamant pleas. I just started it, so it may take a few days, but rest assured, The Thief has definitely claimed a spot high on my reading queue.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Yay!

    Confession: I read one Sarah Dessen book quite awhile ago. I think it was This Lullaby. I was pretty underwhelmed. I know everyone adores her and I really ought to try more. I just...haven't yet. So let me know what you think.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…