Skip to main content

One Book

One book you're currently reading

Military Scifi/space opera/Australian mythology mix. Loving it.

One book that changed your life

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Turns out books and wardrobes take you to other worlds. I was 10. And nothing was the same again. 

One book you'd want on a deserted island

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

Because when I sink into her lovely, knotty narrative, I never want to be anywhere else.

One book you've read more than once

The Road Home by Ellen Emerson White

White's prose gets me in my gut every time. And Rebecca is so very strong. 

One book you've never been able to finish

The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

It appears I do not have the James gene. I just...don't. 

One book that made you laugh

Straight Man by Richard Russo

Finny the duck, not the man. Hehehe....

One book that made you cry

How Green Was My Valley by Richard Llewellyn

I can only read it about once every ten years and I can never read it without weeping, but I'm pretty sure it's the most beautiful book I've ever read. 

One book you keep rereading

Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier

Perfect. From beginning to end. I have several scenes memorized by now and reading it feels like home. 

One book you've been meaning to read

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

I loved Anna Karenina. I will read this one. Someday. 

One book you believe everyone should read

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Because it's as honest and true and good as it gets. 

Finally, grab the nearest book. Open it to page 56. Find the fifth sentence.

"Which was not surprising, given the nature of their errand and the complex, many-generational hatred that twisted between those two men." 

Mm, I like that one. Any guesses as to what it's from? :-)

(As seen on Kiss a Cloud). 

Comments

  1. military sci-fi/space opera/Australian culture? If it is even the least bit good, I'm marching straight to the bookstore!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lana, I think I can safely recommend a march to the bookstore. It's very good!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Angie's 2022 Must Be Mine

 Hopes, fears. We've got them in spades these days. Today, I'm choosing hope and delicious anticipation. And so here are my most anticipated titles of 2022: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just as much: The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion: Vol. 6 by Beth Brower You Were Made to be Mine by Julie Anne Long Heartbreaker by Sarah MacLean The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik Dreamer Trilogy, #3 by Maggie Stiefvater Cursed by Marissa Meyer Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan