Skip to main content

"Chrissy, bring me the big knife!"

Much like Ronny Cammareri in Moonstruck, I appear to be floundering. Having finished my Megan Whalen Turner orgy fest, I find myself in the old familiar place. Stop-starting book after book. Unable to commit. I figure I'd better ask for some help before my status gets upgraded to critical. So now's the time. The suggestion box is open. I need your very best, guaranteed to bring you out of any slump, recalled to life books. Cause, seriously, I'm starting to lose it. 

Comments

  1. We're taking nominations for the next book club read on my blog.

    So far Desire Unchained, Angels' Blood and Clockwork Heart have been suggested. Maybe one of those?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooh, Angel's Blood looks like a likely one. I read and loved Clockwork Heart. A definite comfort read.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm currently reading Blackbringer, by Laini Taylor, and loving it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. I can't recommend it to enough people. Or The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri. It's a totally different genre than what it appears you normally read, but also excellent.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Charlotte, thanks! I've heard good things about Blackbringer.

    Allie, I read The Namesake awhile back and it was lovely. I actually have The Thirteenth Tale in my stack. Will give it a shot.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Since my real life nickname is indeed Chrissy, I just had to answer your call. I suggest Angels' Blood by Nalini Singh. Intelligently written, clever characters, and an intense story line. I loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous1:40 AM

    What about Garth Nix's Old Kingdom series? Haha There's no search function on your blog, so I can't check to see whether or not you've read him before. Looks like you've read a lot of authors already (my favorite being Juliet Marillier). Nicholas Cage looks terrible in that photo :P

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anything by Jessica Day George. I just finished Dragon Slippers and loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous11:19 AM

    It's funny the first comment is by Ann Aguirre because I've just clicked on to tell you to give Grimspace a try. (I'm new to your blog, so I'm not sure if you've already read it.) I started Grimspace yesterday and haven't been able to do anything productive. I just got back from my local Borders because I needed Wanderlust NOW (even though I haven't finished Grimspace). I love Sirantha. I love March. I love every character in this book.

    If you've already read that, try Ilona Andrews (Magic Bites) or my new favorite YA, Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey. (The Opposite of Invisible is my other favorite YA at the moment. I would have recommended Lisa McMann, but you've read Wake and Fade already.)

    I hope you find something soon. It's a terrible feeling when you finish a few great books and can't find anything to top them.

    Laura

    ReplyDelete
  10. Christine, that's another vote for Angel's Blood. It must be a sign.

    Sharry, I actually have the first two in Nix's Old Kingdom series but haven't read them yet. I read his Sabriel books and loved them. I hate that there's no search feature, btw. Must rectify that.

    Kath, I loved your review of Dragon Slippers. Being a fan of dragons, it sounds awesome.

    Laura, I feel the same way about the Jax books. Love, love, love them. Can't wait for Doubleblind to come out in August. And thanks for the two YA recs. I haven't read either.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous6:21 AM

    Oh, then I must recommend The Opposite of Invisible to you again. It is a beautiful story about love and friendship and it's only 151 pages. That isn't a good thing if you end up loving the voice as much as I did, but it's a quick read and may be just what the doctor ordered. I think you will love Alice and Jewel.

    Laura

    ReplyDelete
  12. Excellent. Just what I'm looking for, Laura.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I have to do the obligatory plug for THE TIME TRAVELER'S WIFE (especially as she just sold her second novel this week for 4.8 billion). I love that book and for someone like me, who normally loves YA contemporary fantasy only, it was a wonderful compromise between adult commerical/literary and fantasy.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Maggie, I heard about that deal. Unreal. I read and loved The Time Traveler's Wife not long after it came out and have been wondering what she'd do next. Will definitely pick the new one up.

    ReplyDelete
  15. a bit late, but just in case you are still looking for great reads (and since i didn't see dwj or mckillip in your next post and so thought you might not have read any books by these two) may i suggest almost any book by diana wynne jones, though i would suggest howl's moving castle, dogsbody, archer's goon, fire and hemlock and ... first. really almost all her books are GREAT and the ones that are not great and really good :) and then the same goes for patricia mckillip, she writes beautifully, choose any of her books and you won't be dissappointed.
    and since i didn't see emma bull's "war for the oaks" in your urban fantasy list, just in case you still haven't been pushed into reading this, i though i would do some pushing.
    and charles de lint is also very good in urban fantasy department.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Katayoun, thank you! I'd love for recommendations to keep coming in. I seriously need to pick up a de Lint book. I'm embarrassed that I haven't yet. I love McKillip and have been meaning to get her new one. I enjoyed War for the Oaks as well. But I hate to say that I don't seem to have the DWJ gene. I read Fire and Hemlock and Howl's Moving Castle and I just can't seem to get into it.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan