Skip to main content

Rated E for Everyone

Awhile back the Ink Mage put together a delightful post entitled, "Books I'd Recommend to Anyone."  I enjoyed reading through it so much I decided to slap together a similar list of my own. It's rather nice to have a list of books in various genres that you feel comfortable pressing on almost anybody. This list does not encompass all of my favorites, but these are the ones I hand out indiscriminately.












Fantasy
The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander









Sci Fi/Post Apocalyptic/Dystopian
Doomsday Book by Connie Willis











Urban Fantasy























Mystery
Nine Coaches Waiting by Mary Stewart

Comments

  1. Anonymous2:48 PM

    Oh very cool. I've saved this post for reference :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. What an awesome idea. I recommend Beauty to basically everyone :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Li, hope it comes in handy!

    Janssen, it's hard not to. Beauty is just...Beauty.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous1:05 AM

    I totally agree with your fairytale re-tellings section, I'm sure most people who are new to the genre would enjoy those. As for the other sections, I haven't read hardly any of them yet! So, knowing that we share some similar tastes, I will definitely bookmark this page and check out some of your recommendations!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Definitely some good choices! I remember reading Dicey's song years ago.

    Also loved The Book Thief and Silent in the Grave.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sharry, I'm glad. There are so many out there, of course. But these four are the ones I think have a universal appeal. Hope you enjoy some of the others. Be sure to let me know!

    Marg, I remember my mother trying to get me to read Dicey's Song. At the time it was just another book with an award sticker on it to me. Blech. My malaise didn't last through the first page. Man, I love that book. The whole series, really.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous12:04 PM

    I've got to agree with you on everything -- except the few I haven't read, so I figure I'll love them, like _Clockwork Heart_. Thanks!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Stephanie, no problem. Clockwork Heart is a fun one, isn't it?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan