Skip to main content

Risky Business


The lovely Shannon Hale has an extremely interesting post up on her blog about why she writes what she does, why the next book won't necessarily be the one you want, and why that's the way it has to be. I've long been fascinated with how writers answer the question: what do I write next? How does one go about balancing the pressures of following up one success with another hit, the mounting desires of clamoring readers, and one's own inclinations? Shannon has some valuable insights into where she falls on the issue.

Robin McKinley addresses the subject (with her signature style and vigor) in this post on her blog entitled "There is no sequel to SUNSHINE." And as much as it pains me to hear there won't be sequels to some of my favorite books, there's no way in Hades I would want any of my favorite authors to go against their nature (or the demands of the Story Council) merely to satisfy fans. I want the next story they have in them. I don't care if it's a sequel, a prequel, or an entirely unrelated treatise on the life of the fruit fly. If Robin McKinley writes it, I'll read it. Period.

At the same time, as a reader, I really do appreciate it when authors address this question. If just so I can reorient myself in the whole author-book-reader spectrum. I know my place, I appreciate theirs. It's one more link in that ever-evolving, weird, and awesome relationship that exists between authors and readers, particularly in the age of the internet. One of my more recently acquired favorite writers, Moira J. Moore, recently outlined the many projects she's currently working on/mulling over and put it to her LJ readers to see which they thought she should proceed with and which should perhaps go on the back burner for awhile. It was great to get a glimpse of her process and (FWIW) give my inconsequential input.

So what do you think? Readers, do you ever find yourselves wondering why your favorite authors don't just churn out sequel after sequel? Authors, is this an issue that plagues you?

Comments

  1. That Robin McKinley post bums me out too! No sequel to Sunshine.. sighh.

    Most of the authors I read can produce sequels but a few just don't work that way. In a way I don't mind, because I'm in the middle of SO MANY series right now, it's killing me keeping things separate in my mind. Standalones are OK for this reason. On the other hand, if I LOVE something it is hard for it to be just that one book. Sunshine is probably the best example.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I need to read Sunshine. It bums me that I have not. I do enjoy stand alones. Sometimes they are a breath of fresh air in a world of urban fantasy cliffhangers.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I find the author process fascinating. And I like standalone books. That being said, I haven't read anything by Shannon Hale nor have I read Sunshine. Clearly I should get right on this.

    ReplyDelete
  4. The one book that immediately sprang to my mind when I think of sequels I would love to see is Sharon Shinn's "Summers at Castle Auburn" - I would *love* a sequel, just so I could read more about what happens next. On the other hand, it ended on a perfect note, so actually, I'm satisfied.

    Maybe if there's still a story that's worth telling, then yes, sequel by all means. In fact, please. But if there's no story, then really, there's no point. My two pennies worth :-)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Janicu...I know. Although I do think SUNSHINE has the perfect ending, I would love a sequel. So very much.

    Princess Allie, I agree. It really can be refreshing to get the whole thing in one awesome package.

    Shannon, you won't get any argument from me! Grab a copy of SUNSHINE and for Hale start with THE GOOSE GIRL.

    Li, I was so delightfully surprised by SaCA. And I would eat up more of Corie's story with a spoon.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous3:07 PM

    I totally agree with you on Robin McKinley! Too bad about SunShine 2, but I'll take whatever she writes!

    I nominated your blog for an award-you can see it at http://sunshine-gardeninmypocket.blogspot.com/
    Have an awesome day!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …