Skip to main content

Beastly: the Movie

Alex Flinn's Beastly was on my Best of 2007 list and it remains my favorite modern-day retelling of the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale. In my review I had this to say:
This B&B story hits everything right and the changes Ms. Flinn made enhanced her grittier version of the tale. For instance, Flinn's Beast is more akin to a dark superhero. Batman prowling the streets of Gotham City at night. He even takes a new name--Adrian--symbolizing his complete reversal in fortune, bleak new outlook on life, and ultimate rejection of the boy he used to be. In addition, the reader gets to catch the whole transformation thing as it happens. In most versions, we come to it way after the fact. Often the Beast has been languishing under his curse for hundreds of years when we come upon him. In this case, Kyle/Adrian has just two years to find true love and break the spell. I liked that we got in on how he coped with it all, as opposed to getting it in retrospect. This is also the first version I've read where Beauty's family didn't want her. Where, by all accounts, she's had a rougher life than he has. It makes it that much sweeter when these two people who have suffered much find not only love, but a way out.
I'm both surprised and delighted that they're making a movie of this book. The casting choices so far look...interesting. Though Neil Patrick Harris is sure to be awesome as Adrian's blind tutor. We shall see. Anyone else read Beastly? Thoughts?

Comments

  1. I enjoyed the book, too, and found my interest piqued when they announced plans for the movie. Alex Pettyfer was awesome in Stormbreaker, but he seemed to kind of disappear after that. Is he right for Kyle? I'm not sure, but I'm looking forward to seeing what he'll bring to the role.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Chelle, I don't think I've seen any of the cast before, except NPH. I've loaned out my copy of BEASTLY several times since I read it. When I get it back next I may need to do a reread in preparation for the movie release. Those chat sessions cracked me up the first time around...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Karen W.8:08 PM

    I'll definitely see the movie. "Beauty & The Beast" is my favorite fairy tale, and I really liked the book. I'm very excited it's going to be a movie!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Karen, I'm glad to hear others liked this one. I hope the film attracts more attention to it. Can't wait to see it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I read in a magazine a while ago that Vanessa Hudgens is going to be Beauty in Beastly the movie..

    I was like 'Noooooooo!!!!!'
    Sorry,but I'm not a fan

    ReplyDelete
  6. Beastly was one of the books my Harper editor sent me when I first sold to that publisher. I really enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Eek - I loved this book and I'm more than a little nervous about the casting too. Hopefully the director will whip them all into shape!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Valerie, yeah, I was pretty concerned about that as well. And I've never even seen her in anything. She's certainly not how I pictured Linda at all...

    Diana, how cool! I just thought it was a super retelling. Humorous, touching, dark, and sweet all at once. Winning combination, imo.

    Michelle, I know. Fingers crossed!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I just finished the book a week ago.Though I wasn't wowed by the it, I did enjoy it. I had no idea they were making a movie. I'm kinda excited!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hey Oryfan! It is kind of exciting. I think they certainly have some good stuff to work with and hope it translates well to the big screen. I'm always a sucker for a good Beauty and the Beast retelling. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Grace7:40 PM

    I cant wait to see the movie. i read the book and LOVED it.

    im actually a fan of vanessa hudgens and u guys should cut her some slack. u never know. u may think shes just the hyper girl from high school musical but shes and ACTRESS so just cut her some slack...please.

    anyways cant wait to see the movie!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Grace, it's such a good book, isn't it? I'm happy to meet a Vanessa Hudgens fan. Like I said above, I haven't seen her in anything. I think she's probably perfectly capable of doing a fantastic job. My doubts came mainly from the fact that her look and general presentation are nothing at all like the way Linda was described in the book. But I'm going in with an open mind. Can't wait to see it!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Grace4:13 PM

    Yeah thats true. she doesnt look like a red head but i dont know im sure it'll be a good movie. i wish they had the audiobook on itunes tho.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …