Skip to main content

Beastly: the Movie

Alex Flinn's Beastly was on my Best of 2007 list and it remains my favorite modern-day retelling of the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale. In my review I had this to say:
This B&B story hits everything right and the changes Ms. Flinn made enhanced her grittier version of the tale. For instance, Flinn's Beast is more akin to a dark superhero. Batman prowling the streets of Gotham City at night. He even takes a new name--Adrian--symbolizing his complete reversal in fortune, bleak new outlook on life, and ultimate rejection of the boy he used to be. In addition, the reader gets to catch the whole transformation thing as it happens. In most versions, we come to it way after the fact. Often the Beast has been languishing under his curse for hundreds of years when we come upon him. In this case, Kyle/Adrian has just two years to find true love and break the spell. I liked that we got in on how he coped with it all, as opposed to getting it in retrospect. This is also the first version I've read where Beauty's family didn't want her. Where, by all accounts, she's had a rougher life than he has. It makes it that much sweeter when these two people who have suffered much find not only love, but a way out.
I'm both surprised and delighted that they're making a movie of this book. The casting choices so far look...interesting. Though Neil Patrick Harris is sure to be awesome as Adrian's blind tutor. We shall see. Anyone else read Beastly? Thoughts?

Comments

  1. I enjoyed the book, too, and found my interest piqued when they announced plans for the movie. Alex Pettyfer was awesome in Stormbreaker, but he seemed to kind of disappear after that. Is he right for Kyle? I'm not sure, but I'm looking forward to seeing what he'll bring to the role.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Chelle, I don't think I've seen any of the cast before, except NPH. I've loaned out my copy of BEASTLY several times since I read it. When I get it back next I may need to do a reread in preparation for the movie release. Those chat sessions cracked me up the first time around...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Karen W.8:08 PM

    I'll definitely see the movie. "Beauty & The Beast" is my favorite fairy tale, and I really liked the book. I'm very excited it's going to be a movie!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Karen, I'm glad to hear others liked this one. I hope the film attracts more attention to it. Can't wait to see it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I read in a magazine a while ago that Vanessa Hudgens is going to be Beauty in Beastly the movie..

    I was like 'Noooooooo!!!!!'
    Sorry,but I'm not a fan

    ReplyDelete
  6. Beastly was one of the books my Harper editor sent me when I first sold to that publisher. I really enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Eek - I loved this book and I'm more than a little nervous about the casting too. Hopefully the director will whip them all into shape!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Valerie, yeah, I was pretty concerned about that as well. And I've never even seen her in anything. She's certainly not how I pictured Linda at all...

    Diana, how cool! I just thought it was a super retelling. Humorous, touching, dark, and sweet all at once. Winning combination, imo.

    Michelle, I know. Fingers crossed!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I just finished the book a week ago.Though I wasn't wowed by the it, I did enjoy it. I had no idea they were making a movie. I'm kinda excited!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hey Oryfan! It is kind of exciting. I think they certainly have some good stuff to work with and hope it translates well to the big screen. I'm always a sucker for a good Beauty and the Beast retelling. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Grace7:40 PM

    I cant wait to see the movie. i read the book and LOVED it.

    im actually a fan of vanessa hudgens and u guys should cut her some slack. u never know. u may think shes just the hyper girl from high school musical but shes and ACTRESS so just cut her some slack...please.

    anyways cant wait to see the movie!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Grace, it's such a good book, isn't it? I'm happy to meet a Vanessa Hudgens fan. Like I said above, I haven't seen her in anything. I think she's probably perfectly capable of doing a fantastic job. My doubts came mainly from the fact that her look and general presentation are nothing at all like the way Linda was described in the book. But I'm going in with an open mind. Can't wait to see it!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Grace4:13 PM

    Yeah thats true. she doesnt look like a red head but i dont know im sure it'll be a good movie. i wish they had the audiobook on itunes tho.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Angie's 2022 Must Be Mine

 Hopes, fears. We've got them in spades these days. Today, I'm choosing hope and delicious anticipation. And so here are my most anticipated titles of 2022: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just as much: The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion: Vol. 6 by Beth Brower You Were Made to be Mine by Julie Anne Long Heartbreaker by Sarah MacLean The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik Dreamer Trilogy, #3 by Maggie Stiefvater Cursed by Marissa Meyer Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan