Skip to main content

Authors Behaving Fiercely

Lately I've run across a few authors I love behaving fiercely. Since that is one of my favorite traits in a book, a character, and an author, too, I wanted to highlight them together. When an author I've enjoyed for some time is interviewed and says something striking or blogs about something important or inspires me in some way to work harder or think harder or just be better in general, a little bell strikes somewhere in the back of my mind and I find myself straightening my shoulders. Here are the three that caused that bell to strike most recently:

1. The National Coalition Against Censorship interviewed Chris Crutcher as part of the Kids' Right to Read Project. Mr. Crutcher spoke about his experience as one of the most challenged authors ever, how he deals with the controversy, and reader responses to his books. My favorite bit comes at the end, when in response to the question, "What would you like youth to know about books that have been challenged or banned?" he says this:
That they aren't really banned. They can get them at the library or the bookstore or Amazon.com. This is America.
I just freaking love that response. This is America. You can't stop the signal, Mal.
2. Ilona Andrews answers a question about writing and motivation and feeling like a poser. She addresses the issue of self-doubt with crushing honesty and shares the four rituals she uses to ward off the writing demons: develop a routine, set a quota, keep an eye on the finish line, and my personal favorite--screw it. It's some great advice and she finishes by recommending you get all your doubts in a row and:
You just have to bash those suckers down and plow through their corpses. Ask yourself, do you want to do this? Yes or no? If you do want it, don't stand in your own way.
See what I mean? Fierce.
3. Last of all Robin McKinley had a delightful experience in which a lady noticed a Robin McKinley bookmark sticking up out of her book and came up to her to tell her she and her daughter read Robin McKinley books together years ago and loved them and had she read any of them herself? LOL. As you might expect, Ms. McKinley tells the story of this hilarious, short, and rather sweetly affirming encounter better than I ever could. You can read it here. Few authors rant as entertainingly as Robin McKinley and she did not disappoint this unwitting admirer:
This was too much for my self-control and I burst out into my little rant about how thirty years ago I assumed the shortage of strong female characters would be a thing of the past by now which is in fact far from the case, rant rant rantrantrantrant.
I do love a good rant. Shoulders straight. Ding goes the little bell.

Comments

  1. Ooh, I loved those all. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Janssen, you're welcome. I ran across them close to each other and they just sort of cried out to be shared.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan