Skip to main content

Authors Behaving Fiercely

Lately I've run across a few authors I love behaving fiercely. Since that is one of my favorite traits in a book, a character, and an author, too, I wanted to highlight them together. When an author I've enjoyed for some time is interviewed and says something striking or blogs about something important or inspires me in some way to work harder or think harder or just be better in general, a little bell strikes somewhere in the back of my mind and I find myself straightening my shoulders. Here are the three that caused that bell to strike most recently:

1. The National Coalition Against Censorship interviewed Chris Crutcher as part of the Kids' Right to Read Project. Mr. Crutcher spoke about his experience as one of the most challenged authors ever, how he deals with the controversy, and reader responses to his books. My favorite bit comes at the end, when in response to the question, "What would you like youth to know about books that have been challenged or banned?" he says this:
That they aren't really banned. They can get them at the library or the bookstore or Amazon.com. This is America.
I just freaking love that response. This is America. You can't stop the signal, Mal.
2. Ilona Andrews answers a question about writing and motivation and feeling like a poser. She addresses the issue of self-doubt with crushing honesty and shares the four rituals she uses to ward off the writing demons: develop a routine, set a quota, keep an eye on the finish line, and my personal favorite--screw it. It's some great advice and she finishes by recommending you get all your doubts in a row and:
You just have to bash those suckers down and plow through their corpses. Ask yourself, do you want to do this? Yes or no? If you do want it, don't stand in your own way.
See what I mean? Fierce.
3. Last of all Robin McKinley had a delightful experience in which a lady noticed a Robin McKinley bookmark sticking up out of her book and came up to her to tell her she and her daughter read Robin McKinley books together years ago and loved them and had she read any of them herself? LOL. As you might expect, Ms. McKinley tells the story of this hilarious, short, and rather sweetly affirming encounter better than I ever could. You can read it here. Few authors rant as entertainingly as Robin McKinley and she did not disappoint this unwitting admirer:
This was too much for my self-control and I burst out into my little rant about how thirty years ago I assumed the shortage of strong female characters would be a thing of the past by now which is in fact far from the case, rant rant rantrantrantrant.
I do love a good rant. Shoulders straight. Ding goes the little bell.

Comments

  1. Ooh, I loved those all. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Janssen, you're welcome. I ran across them close to each other and they just sort of cried out to be shared.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …