Skip to main content

Banned Books Week 2009

It's that time of year again, when we get to celebrate Banned Books Week! Every year, during the last week of September, the ALA sponsors Banned Books Week highlighting the importance of free and open access to the written word and the dangers of censorship. My favorite passage in their written statement is as follows:
Imagine how many more books might be challenged--and possibly banned or restricted--if librarians, teachers, and booksellers across the country did not use Banned Books Week each year to teach the importance of our First Amendment rights and the power of literature, and to draw attention to the danger that exists when restraints are imposed on the availability of information in a free society.
Amen.
I went through and did a quick cull of my shelves, pulling down a few of the most frequently challenged books over the years. These are some of my very favorite books, people. These are books like To Kill a Mockingbird (see wonderful Harper Lee quote above), Harry Potter, A Wrinkle in Time, A Separate Peace, and so many more.
You already know my feelings on this issue (they are strong), so I thought that this year I'd simply include a list of a few of my favorite recent links from around the web on the subject and hope that you check out all the wonderful posts being written in support of the right to read. Make sure to stop in this Friday to catch my special Banned Books Week edition of Retro Fridays.
Lastly, here is the incomparable John Green's excellent defense of his book Looking for Alaska.

Comments

  1. Funny, isn't it, how seriously some of the best books ever are on that list...

    :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous1:12 PM

    Great post! You gathered some really good information to kick off Banned Books Week. =) I especially liked John Green's rant! He's awesome and hilarious...and completely right.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I loved To Kill A Mockingbird! Oh, well. They can try to ban these books if they like; it just makes people want to read them more. :)

    I've got an award for your lovely blog here.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi :)
    Thanks for the great post!
    I loved the vid by John Green.
    I'm going to read Huckleberry Finn in honor of Banned Books week.
    All the best,
    RKCharron
    xoxo

    ReplyDelete
  5. Raspberry, it is. And then of course it's not funny at all. *sigh*

    Becky, he is all of those things. Love that guy.

    La Coccinelle, I hope that's exactly what it does. There's something in these books narrow minded people are afraid you will read. Go! :) Thank you for the lovely award!

    RK, he is awesome it is true. And what a good choice for BBW reading!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Wow, this is not good...

    ReplyDelete
  7. Now I want to read Looking for Alaska...

    ReplyDelete
  8. Now I want to find a whole bunch of banned books for Vicki to read, just out of protest. As if her going through Harry Potter for the umpteenth time isn't enough. Maybe she's old enough now for Are You There God, It's Me, Margaret!

    ReplyDelete
  9. abbee lee, you can say that again.

    AztecLady, yay! It's such a beautiful book. One of my most favorite endings ever.

    Allie, exactly! Will and I just finished The Chronicles of Narnia together. *sob* I'm thinking it's time for Harry. :) And Vicki is totally ready for Judy Blume!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh my God, that was the best video rant ever! EVER! My mouth fell open (thankfully no flies flew in), my eyebrows became one with my hairline and although it may have sounded like choking I can assure you that it was indeed laughter. That was awesome.

    And yes, I too want to check out his book now.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I just became a John Green fan.

    And now I need to go read 84 Charring Cross Road. I know we spent at least one afternoon in London looking for that location and I do believe we found a Pizza Hut in it's spot. The nerve!

    I think, maybe for my birthday, I'll ask you to compile a list of "Books that everyone (especially Carrie) must read" because, man, I need a list like that.

    ReplyDelete
  12. This is the very video that set me off on my whole John Green kick over a year ago. Love him.

    ReplyDelete
  13. That is pretty good for me because i never love to read.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Love the video! He makes some really good points about books and not being a pornographer :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. I love Banned Book Week! I wish it was a month so more people can get the message, but thank you for posting this. :) I also love John Green.

    ReplyDelete
  16. KMont, yes! I'm so glad you watched it and loved it. He's awesome and I think you'd like LOOKING FOR ALASKA. Also, if you're in the mood for something funny AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES is hysterical from beginning to end.

    Carrie, I'm glad you remember me dragging you to 84 with fondness. :) It was indeed a Pizza Hut. *sob*

    One birthday list coming up!

    Suey, that's so great you found him through this video. I love all the Brotherhood 2.0 vlogs.

    london, hey there! Glad you could stop by. If you want any reading recommendations I'm happy to offer some. :)

    Tracie, lol, yeah. I'd be mad, too, I think.

    Princess Allie, I agree. A month would be awesome.

    ReplyDelete
  17. What a great week, love it. Wouldn't it be fun to try to see how many banned books you could read during the week?

    ReplyDelete
  18. Book Club Guide, you know several bloggers have taken up that challenge and it's such fun to check in with their progress and read their thoughts on the individual books.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th