Skip to main content

My Life According to the Books I've Read

I saw this bookish meme over at Today's Adventure and figured I'd give it a shot. Some of the prompts are a bit inane, but the idea is a fun one. If you do it, make sure to let me know so I can check it out.

Using only books you have read this year (2009), cleverly answer these questions. Try not to repeat a book title. It's a lot harder than you think!

Describe Yourself: Silent On The Moor by Deanna Raybourn

How do you feel: Impossible by Nancy Werlin

Describe where you currently live: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Westmark by Lloyd Alexander

Your favorite form of transportation: Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce

Your best friend is: The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner

You and your friends are: Bad to the Bonehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=1416551786 by Jeri Smith-Ready

What's the weather like: Cast in Shadowhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=0373802366 by Michelle Sagara

Favorite time of day: Morning is a Long Time Cominghttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=0141306351 by Bette Greene

What is life to you: Balladhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=0738714844 by Maggie Stiefvater

Your fear: Catching Firehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=0439023491 by Suzanne Collins

What is the best advice you have to give: Bloomhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=1416926836 by Elizabeth Scott

Thought for the Day: The Language of Beeshttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=0553804545 by Laurie R. King

How I would like to die: Magic Strikeshttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=0441017029 by Ilona Andrews

My soul's present condition: Soullesshttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angieville-20&l=as2&o=1&a=0316056634 by Gail Carriger

Comments

  1. I never tire of reading these.

    ReplyDelete
  2. The state of your soul frightens me... lol

    I like yours, glad you had fun!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous10:46 AM

    What great fun! I've seen this meme going around...

    I like your answer to what life is to you! Hehe, when I read your favorite form of transportation I was thinking, "Does she plan on riding on a big dog?" stupid..stupid..

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  4. Juju, I'm glad! As they don't appear to be going away any time soon. :)

    Vanessa, LOL! It frightens me as well. Seriously, that one worked too well not to use, even if it wasn't entirely accurate...;)

    Marie, yeah, I thought it was as well.

    Sharry, I know. That one probably works least of all but it was the only one remotely connected to transportation, and still a stretch at that!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Angie, this was a lot of fun. I liked our answers. I decided to copy you and did this meme as well. It was fun!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Fun fun! I think I'll be trying this meme!

    Thanks for posting :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I posted one too! It was harder than I thought!

    http://fallingofftheshelf.blogspot.com/2009/09/my-life-according-to-books-ive-read.html

    ReplyDelete
  8. Kath, I'm glad! I saw yours and they are particularly good. Though to die by the Hunger Games *shivers*.

    Jenni, wow, that was fast! And you're right! It is harder than you think. I particularly like your way you would like to die. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Loved this! I think I'll try it...I'll let you know when I do!

    Also, sending you an email...hoping it doesn't go to spam...

    ReplyDelete
  10. Trish, definitely do! Got the email.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I love this little meme. Your answers are so cool. How often does one read a book with the name of a road in it??

    Oh wow. My word verification is "tryme" !

    *cue twilight zone music*

    ReplyDelete
  12. nice. I posted it on my blog too.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan