Skip to main content

Cybils 2009

And once again it's October and The Cybils are here! The Cybils two-fold purpose is:
1. Reward the children's and young adult authors (and illustrators--let's not forget them) whose books combine the highest literary merit and "kid appeal." What's that mean? If some la-di-dah awards can be compared to brussel sprouts, and other, more populist ones to gummy bears, we're thinking more like organic chicken nuggets. We're yummy and nutritious.
2. Foster a sense of community among bloggers who write about children's and YA literature, highlight our best reviewers (and shamelessly promote their blogs) and provide a forum for the similarly obsessed.
It's hard not to love the organic chicken nugget analogy and the reference to the "similarly obsessed," is it not? Clearly, these are my people.
A couple of years ago I served as a second round judge on the Graphic Novels panel and had such a wonderful time associating with the other panelists and judges and reading through some of the best in Graphic Novels for the year. This year I'm thrilled to be serving as a first round judge on the Young Adult Science Fiction & Fantasy panel! These are the lovely people I'll be working with:
Steve Berman, Guys Lit Wire
Gwenda Bond, Shaken & Stirred
Tanita S. Davis, Finding Wonderland
Sheila Ruth, Wands and Worlds
Samantha Wheat, Twisted Quill
So, to the meat. The nominations are now officially open! All kids/YA books published between October 16, 2008 and October 16, 2009 are eligible. Here are the links to each of the different categories, with a complete list of nominated titles, updated continually:
And here is a link to the nomination form:
The two most important rules are: you can nominate one book per category and be sure to nominate a book you are passionate about. I'm so excited! So do you have any in mind already? What's the best you've read in the last year? Head on over now and start nominating!

Comments

  1. Yay, Angiegirl and the SFF category of the Cybils!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Tarie, lol, thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  3. You lucky thing! I hope you have fun, and I nominated this morning.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Rhiannon, lol. I'll keep you updated on how it's going. Thanks for nominating!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan