Skip to main content

Fiery

So I'm trolling around, minding my own business, when I stumble across the little detail that Kristin Cashore and Suzanne Collins will be doing a signing together at one of my favorite bookstores in the whole wide world--Books of Wonder! That's right, the author of Graceling and Fire and the author of The Hunger Games and Catching Fire will be double teaming the crowd on the evening of Tuesday, November 10th. Truly it is the height of injustice that I live so very far from New York City...Anyone out there going to be able to make it to this night of awesome?
To cheer myself up, here's the fun Fire widget in which you can cast your favorite characters in a hypothetical movie of the book. Having browsed through the options, can I just say Gael Garcia Bernal as Brigan FTW!

Comments

  1. I'm in DC which is still just a bit too far :(

    I'm still kicking myself for having missed Kristen at Politics & Prose in DC.

    ReplyDelete
  2. And here I was having such a good day. I'm going to go sulk now...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh my goodness gracious. Sure sounds like a night NOT to be missed......

    ReplyDelete
  4. Alexa, yeah, still too far I'd say. So sorry you missed her!

    Vanessa, lol. I'm sorry! You can join me on the sulking bench. Have a lemon wedge.

    Christine, it does indeed. You could make it, couldn't you? :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. In a world where things were ALL ABOUT ME, I could very easily make it. The part about it being a school night and probably at a time very close to rush hour... those are life's little realities that may keep me from going. I'm seriously considering it, though. Let me know if you find a way to hop a plane bound for NYC that night, though, ok?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Christine, and there goes my image of you as a woman of leisure...*sigh* ;)

    I will be calling you as soon as my ship comes in!

    ReplyDelete
  7. So sorry to disillusion you on my lifestyle, but well... there it is. LOL!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm so unbelieveably jealous of everyone can be there for that...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Christine, lol! What can you do?

    Jena, as am I. As. Am. I.

    ReplyDelete
  10. It's too cruel not being able to go. Did they not think how this would affect the rest of the world?? No they didn't, but they selfishly went ahead anyway!

    hehe...

    ReplyDelete
  11. Rhiannon, it IS too cruel. It was an awful thing to do to the rest of us.

    :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan