Skip to main content

Fiery

So I'm trolling around, minding my own business, when I stumble across the little detail that Kristin Cashore and Suzanne Collins will be doing a signing together at one of my favorite bookstores in the whole wide world--Books of Wonder! That's right, the author of Graceling and Fire and the author of The Hunger Games and Catching Fire will be double teaming the crowd on the evening of Tuesday, November 10th. Truly it is the height of injustice that I live so very far from New York City...Anyone out there going to be able to make it to this night of awesome?
To cheer myself up, here's the fun Fire widget in which you can cast your favorite characters in a hypothetical movie of the book. Having browsed through the options, can I just say Gael Garcia Bernal as Brigan FTW!

Comments

  1. I'm in DC which is still just a bit too far :(

    I'm still kicking myself for having missed Kristen at Politics & Prose in DC.

    ReplyDelete
  2. And here I was having such a good day. I'm going to go sulk now...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh my goodness gracious. Sure sounds like a night NOT to be missed......

    ReplyDelete
  4. Alexa, yeah, still too far I'd say. So sorry you missed her!

    Vanessa, lol. I'm sorry! You can join me on the sulking bench. Have a lemon wedge.

    Christine, it does indeed. You could make it, couldn't you? :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. In a world where things were ALL ABOUT ME, I could very easily make it. The part about it being a school night and probably at a time very close to rush hour... those are life's little realities that may keep me from going. I'm seriously considering it, though. Let me know if you find a way to hop a plane bound for NYC that night, though, ok?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Christine, and there goes my image of you as a woman of leisure...*sigh* ;)

    I will be calling you as soon as my ship comes in!

    ReplyDelete
  7. So sorry to disillusion you on my lifestyle, but well... there it is. LOL!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm so unbelieveably jealous of everyone can be there for that...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Christine, lol! What can you do?

    Jena, as am I. As. Am. I.

    ReplyDelete
  10. It's too cruel not being able to go. Did they not think how this would affect the rest of the world?? No they didn't, but they selfishly went ahead anyway!

    hehe...

    ReplyDelete
  11. Rhiannon, it IS too cruel. It was an awful thing to do to the rest of us.

    :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…