Skip to main content

A Halloween Treat

Just when I was all set to sulk the day away, this little package shows up on my doorstep. I am having difficulty containing my glee. Then I thought of something, went and checked, and sure enough, a surprisingly similar package showed up on my porch a year ago almost to the day! I believe this constitutes the making of a new tradition. A Shinn/Marillier Halloween package tradition. I'll take one every year, thanks! Now the only question is....which one first?

Comments

  1. ooo. That's a hard one. Both looks AMAZING. Though, I think I'd pick up Gateway first... but I'm not in the situation who knows what I'd pick when the pressure was on! lol

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh my goodness, I'm so jealous! I was just looking at the Juliet Marillier book and thinking man, I wish it would come out soonner.

    ReplyDelete
  3. AHHH! Did you get those early or can I go get them right now!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Both look awesome! I've heard great things about these authors, and it sounds like I definitely need to go check out their books some time. Happy reading with either one though! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yeah! My vote is for Marillier, but that's just because I think I'm in the mood for a Beauty & the Beast retelling around this time of year.
    With either title you can't go wrong, though.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sweet! My vote is for Gateway because I've already decided that I want to read Heart's Blood (or Marillier, in general)... so I'm more eager for your thoughts on the former.

    Either way, enjoy your porch loot! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ahhh! I'm jealous. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sara, lol. The pressure is on! Ahh!

    Lan, B&N.com appears to have it in stock...

    Elisa, it's sixes. GATEWAY's out but our stores don't seem to have it in for some stupid reason. HEART'S BLOOD is due out Nov. 3rd. But as I said, B&N.com...:)

    Jenn, they are both decidedly awesome. With Marillier you've absolutely got to start with DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST--the first Sevenwaters book. With Shinn it's a toss-up for me between ARCHANGEL (the first Samaria book) or MYSTIC & RIDER (the first 12 Houses book). But you can't go wrong.

    Samantha, you're so right. I am totally in the mood for B&B retelling.

    Christine, enjoyment is in the cards. :) I will definitely get going on them and give you my thoughts asap.

    Holly, will be in touch. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous12:04 AM

    Ooo read Juliet Marillier's first! I love Sharon Shinn though... nvm, it is a hard choice, isn't it?

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi. Good friend of mine got the book Gateway as a birthday present few weeks ago. I don't know whether she has already finished this book but she was very happy when she got that book and said that it was exactly what she wanted. So my choice would be Gateway.

    Take care,
    Jay

    ReplyDelete
  11. Both of these authors are on my TBR list because I know I will love them both. I should go with Marillier first though seeing as she is an Aussie!

    ReplyDelete
  12. That is one mighty fine package to have received. I can't wait to hear what you think about the Marillier, but I also really want to read GATEWAY and would love to know what you think before I do. Either way, enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oooh fun! Not familiar with either book but they both have awesome covers!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Aww, really? Thanks! I am the first in line at Provo. We'll see how long the processing takes. :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Sharry, it is a hard choice!

    Jay, hey, that's good to hear! I'm glad she was pleased with it and I can't wait to jump in.

    Marg, there you go. Way to make a decision!

    Chelle, I have been dying to get a hold of and read the Marillier so we could talk about it. :)

    Britt, that's just what I was thinking. Such attractive packaging. Why can't they all be that way? Also you really must read both Marillier and Shinn. They are superb and based on your taste, I think you'd really like them.

    Holly, well done getting the plum spot in line! Let me know if it comes in!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I so want Gateway. Even though I haven't YET opened Heart's Blood.

    So many books, so little time.

    ReplyDelete
  17. am sitting here most definitely coveting that awesome Halloween package. hopefully reviews will be coming soon?

    ReplyDelete
  18. Anonymous9:03 PM

    These both look great! I'm going to check out Daughter of the Forest.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Li, *gasp* You must open it! I'm 50 pages in and it's sooo good.

    Michelle, reviews will most definitely be coming soon. ;)

    fictionfanatic, ooh, I can't wait to hear what you think! It is one of my all-time favorite books.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…