Skip to main content

A Halloween Treat

Just when I was all set to sulk the day away, this little package shows up on my doorstep. I am having difficulty containing my glee. Then I thought of something, went and checked, and sure enough, a surprisingly similar package showed up on my porch a year ago almost to the day! I believe this constitutes the making of a new tradition. A Shinn/Marillier Halloween package tradition. I'll take one every year, thanks! Now the only question is....which one first?

Comments

  1. ooo. That's a hard one. Both looks AMAZING. Though, I think I'd pick up Gateway first... but I'm not in the situation who knows what I'd pick when the pressure was on! lol

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh my goodness, I'm so jealous! I was just looking at the Juliet Marillier book and thinking man, I wish it would come out soonner.

    ReplyDelete
  3. AHHH! Did you get those early or can I go get them right now!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Both look awesome! I've heard great things about these authors, and it sounds like I definitely need to go check out their books some time. Happy reading with either one though! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yeah! My vote is for Marillier, but that's just because I think I'm in the mood for a Beauty & the Beast retelling around this time of year.
    With either title you can't go wrong, though.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sweet! My vote is for Gateway because I've already decided that I want to read Heart's Blood (or Marillier, in general)... so I'm more eager for your thoughts on the former.

    Either way, enjoy your porch loot! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ahhh! I'm jealous. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sara, lol. The pressure is on! Ahh!

    Lan, B&N.com appears to have it in stock...

    Elisa, it's sixes. GATEWAY's out but our stores don't seem to have it in for some stupid reason. HEART'S BLOOD is due out Nov. 3rd. But as I said, B&N.com...:)

    Jenn, they are both decidedly awesome. With Marillier you've absolutely got to start with DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST--the first Sevenwaters book. With Shinn it's a toss-up for me between ARCHANGEL (the first Samaria book) or MYSTIC & RIDER (the first 12 Houses book). But you can't go wrong.

    Samantha, you're so right. I am totally in the mood for B&B retelling.

    Christine, enjoyment is in the cards. :) I will definitely get going on them and give you my thoughts asap.

    Holly, will be in touch. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous12:04 AM

    Ooo read Juliet Marillier's first! I love Sharon Shinn though... nvm, it is a hard choice, isn't it?

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi. Good friend of mine got the book Gateway as a birthday present few weeks ago. I don't know whether she has already finished this book but she was very happy when she got that book and said that it was exactly what she wanted. So my choice would be Gateway.

    Take care,
    Jay

    ReplyDelete
  11. Both of these authors are on my TBR list because I know I will love them both. I should go with Marillier first though seeing as she is an Aussie!

    ReplyDelete
  12. That is one mighty fine package to have received. I can't wait to hear what you think about the Marillier, but I also really want to read GATEWAY and would love to know what you think before I do. Either way, enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oooh fun! Not familiar with either book but they both have awesome covers!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Aww, really? Thanks! I am the first in line at Provo. We'll see how long the processing takes. :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Sharry, it is a hard choice!

    Jay, hey, that's good to hear! I'm glad she was pleased with it and I can't wait to jump in.

    Marg, there you go. Way to make a decision!

    Chelle, I have been dying to get a hold of and read the Marillier so we could talk about it. :)

    Britt, that's just what I was thinking. Such attractive packaging. Why can't they all be that way? Also you really must read both Marillier and Shinn. They are superb and based on your taste, I think you'd really like them.

    Holly, well done getting the plum spot in line! Let me know if it comes in!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I so want Gateway. Even though I haven't YET opened Heart's Blood.

    So many books, so little time.

    ReplyDelete
  17. am sitting here most definitely coveting that awesome Halloween package. hopefully reviews will be coming soon?

    ReplyDelete
  18. Anonymous9:03 PM

    These both look great! I'm going to check out Daughter of the Forest.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Li, *gasp* You must open it! I'm 50 pages in and it's sooo good.

    Michelle, reviews will most definitely be coming soon. ;)

    fictionfanatic, ooh, I can't wait to hear what you think! It is one of my all-time favorite books.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan