Skip to main content

Just Excellent News











After much hoping against hope and crossing of fingers on my part, I was completely delighted to read that Dennis Lehane is working on a sequel to his beloved Patrick Kenzie/Angela Gennaro mystery series. This is huge news, people. Particularly since the last book in the series--Prayers for Rain--was written ten years ago! I've been crazy about this series for a few years now, ever since DH introduced me to them. I love Patrick and I love Angie and I love crazy, psycho Bubba. Die hard fans of the hardboiled P.I.s were afraid the series was over for good, but with this news there is so much to look forward to as Lehane has said the new installment will be a direct sequel of sorts to Gone, Baby, Gone and will take place eleven years after that devastating case. No word yet on a title or release date but this is just excellent news.

Thanks to Keishon over at Avid Book Reader for the heads up! For a rundown on the series and where to start, head over there to check out her great post on Lehane.

Comments

  1. That is great news, Angie! Thanks!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous1:11 PM

    As a dedicated book lover/luster I can't *believe* I didn't know Gone Baby Gone was a book first! I saw the movie and had no idea until this post it was part of a PI series! I will have to give these a try now, even though I only saw the movie for that cutey patootie Casey Affleck.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Jen, you bet! I'm can't wait to see where he takes them next.

    lustyreader, ooh, yes! Yes it was a book first. And the fourth in the series to boot. Casey Affleck is very cute, though they tried to make him as grizzled as possible in GBG. :) I do recommend starting at the beginning with this one. They're such great character-driven, smart novels.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …