Skip to main content

Stylish Pretties

I just think these three have some real style to them--all silvery and blue with the shock of bright red in the middle. *love* They range from historical fiction, to fantasy, to steampunk and I am looking forward to them all. And, even though the cover for Splendor isn't my favorite of the three (favorite dress=the red one on Rumors, favorite cover=the one for Envy), I have to say the extravagant dress theme has had a really fun run with the Luxe series.
The fourth and final installment in the Luxe series. I will be very interested to see how it all plays out. I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and, as it reads like Peyton Place set in turn of the century New York City, I feel perfectly comfortable being as petty with it as it is with me. As such, I will not be okay if a certain someone dies, if another someone does not remarry (the right suitor, mind you), and if a third someone does not get what's been coming to her for four freaking books. That is all. Splendor is due out October 27th.
I just stumbled across this lovely little offering from Egmont USA. After reading the synopsis over at Alexandra Bracken's site, I find myself sort of humming with excitement to read this debut novel. Full of a land beset by storms and quakes, a mysterious wizard who brings rain, and a young woman stolen from her home who may hold the key to it all...I am so there. Brightly Woven is due out March 23rd.
The second novel in The Parasol Protectorate, Changeless (subtitle: A Novel of Vampires, Werewolves, and Dirigibles) is the sequel to the funny and fun Soulless and follows Miss Alexia Tarrabotti on her outlandish escapades in London. Without a soul but with Scottish werewolf Lord Maccon, I do wonder where Miss Tarrabotti's terrible luck will take her next. Changeless is due out March 30th.

Comments

  1. I haven't read the other two yet, but as far as Splendor goes, amen, amen, and AMEN.
    And the first one is my favorite so far. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. mmm...Splendor. I agree with you on all accounts. It better end happy. :o)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really love the cover for Changeless...so different.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Raspberry, yes! We are one. And THE LUXE is your favorite book or cover? Or both? :)

    Alicia, it really better. Otherwise, the PAIN!

    Mandi, I know! I love how eye-catching it is. And the tagline.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I also am pretty eager for Splendor. I think your evasive way of mentioning certain plot points is pretty funny, and well said! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. These are lovely! I do love the shock of bright in the middle of all of them. It hadn't occurred to me why they are so eye-catching and delicious, but I think you put your finger on it. Yummy.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Becky, lol, that's me being sneaky. ;)

    Carolyn, they do look pretty nifty together!

    ReplyDelete
  8. OK, this has nothing to do with your current post, but I just finished a Diana Peterfreund marathon the last couple of weeks and I am just coming up for air. Other than a few brief moments of TMI (Amy and George), I LOVED all the books. The library didn't have Tap and Gown, so I just need to get my hands on a copy ...... Poe....SWEET! I totally didn't see that coming.....I use to be good at telling who would end up with who, but that took me by surprise and I love it! But I think I liked Rampant even better.....evil unicorns......brillant! I can't wait to see what else the series has in store. Thanks for the suggestion.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Liz, you read the Peterfreund's! Awesome. Ah, poor George. I love him, even though he was mixed up about several things. But wow do you need to get a copy of TAP & GOWN! Woman. It is soooo good. And you can now appreciate my love for all things POE. :)

    I'm really glad you loved RAMPANT as well. The way she did killer unicorns was brilliant indeed.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm slowly making my way through the Luxe books - just picked up ENVY. They look purty sitting on the shelf together. :) Oh, and I have an ARC of Brightly Woven - it looks so good! I've been wanting to read Soulless, too - hopefully soon.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Chelle, you gots an ARC of BRIGHTLY WOVEN?! *covets* I read the first chapter on her site today and loved it.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh my... I almost don't even care about the content of the Luxe books. They are just too gorgeous NOT to sit on my bookshelf. It's a good thing they are so fun to read.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Christine, *grin* I know what you mean. I have the first and third, but not the second. I need to fill that gap, particularly once SPLENDOR is out! I love me my matched sets. :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. I can't WAIT for Splendor, of course, and I just heard Soulless booktalked this week at a conference and I'm DYING to read it. Oh my word.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan