Skip to main content

The Lioness & the Lexicon

A couple of noteworthy items for you this evening:
My friend Chelle over at Tempting Persephone is hosting a wonderful challenge called Pursuing the Lioness.
This event is a chance for those who have not yet discovered Tamora Pierce's phenomenal Alanna books (the Song of the Lioness quartet) to read one or all of them and post about the experience sometime over the next six months. And for those who know and love Alanna already, Chelle is asking for guest posts about your favorite book, character, or memory associated with the series. Most of you know what a pivotal series this was for me growing up and so you can guess how much this event gives me the deep tingles. I'll be helping kick off the festivities with a guest post on the 18th. I hope you'll take part as well. See you there!

A few days ago I was over on Twitter rhapsodizing about my love for The Demon's Lexicon and all things Alan & Nick, when the Ana-half of The Book Smugglers hinted I should head over to Sarah Rees Brennan's site to read the short story "Nick's First Word." Naturally, I hightailed it over and Oh.My.Word. Seriously, you must go read it if you have read The Demon's Lexicon. If not, why have you not? Don't look at me like that. Go. Now! And while I was there I stumbled across the most awesome graphic novel-style art of the four main characters. Plus, there are wallpapers!
Behold, Nick and Alan:










I mean, how awesome are these two? With the sword and the gun and the...?
*sigh*

Comments

  1. Ana (Book Smugglers)7:22 PM

    So cool to be able to share this one with you as well! I LOVE Alan, LOVE ALAN!

    And Nick's First Word was awesome, and he said "chair" and Alan laughed , I cried

    *sigh*

    ReplyDelete
  2. I started TDL this fall but I haven't read much more than 40 pages. I have to try again soon.

    I've never read anything by Tamora Pierce but I understand that I have to :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have never read Tamora Pierce, but that's something I'll try to remedy this year. I put The Demon's Lexicon on my TBR list, too. It's currently #430.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I can't wait to see what you come up with for the guest post!

    Also, I'm starting THE DEMON'S LEXICON tonight.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Okay, okay! I feel sufficiently chastised for not reading the book. ;-) I've added it to my list and on my next library run, this will be on it!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ana, ALAN!!!!!! I just...I love the boy....

    And that story was perfect. I mean, seriously good. I couldn't believe it. *happy*

    Ladybug, I'm glad you know you do. :) The Alanna quartet is the place to start.

    Brenda, LOL. I feel your TBR pain. When it does come around, though, I don't think you'll regret it.

    Chelle, woot! K, you are in for a treat. Just soak it all up. hehe.

    Caitlin, lol. Sweet! My work here is done. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  7. An obsessed friend got me started on Tamora Pierce with the Alanna books, which I liked a lot. Unfortunately, I haven't gotten around to reading any her other series yet.

    I have yet to read the Demon's Lexicon, but added it to my to read list after your great review!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This looks really good. I havent read anything like this before.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Bored_D, sounds like a good friend. :) I recommend moving on to either the Kel or Daine books after Alanna. The Protector of the Small or the Immortals series. Both good stuff. Let me know when you get around to LEXICON. Love that book.

    Sheila, it really is good. *nudge*

    ReplyDelete
  10. The person who wrote The Demon's Lexicon must have been a master mind to write such a wonderful book. Now I have it gathered on my bookshelf with all the rest of my collection of books.

    ReplyDelete
  11. this post has excellent information.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan