Skip to main content

Literary Captivation

So for Christmas DH got me this beautiful painting of a girl reading under a tree. Isn't it pretty?
"Literary Captivation"
I originally came across it in Trish's post on Bookish Gifts over at Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin'? and loved it. I clicked on over to the Hilaria Galleries shop on Etsy and drooled over her lovely work. Trish had posted the print of the left panel but, when I browsed through the gallery, I realized it was actually one half of a two-panel painting. There were prints available of the left panel but not the right. However, the original painting itself (both panels) was for sell. I IMed DH and, being the devious man that he is, he oohed and ahhed over it with me, agreed how perfect it would look hanging in my library, and then proceeded to tell me (in a shocked IM voice) that it had just sold.
Sadness! Woe. It really would have looked so perfect hanging in my library...

This was all about a month before Christmas and I regretfully let it go and went on with my life. Then Christmas morning rolls around and what do I unwrap? You've got it. My very own two-panel painting. The little sneak. So thanks to Trish for the heads up, to Hillary Doggart-Greer for her beautiful painting, and to DH for being crafty and surprising me with the perfect gift. When my son saw it he smiled and said, "Mommy, that's you reading." So it was a universal hit. And wouldn't you know it--it looks perfect hanging in my library.

Comments

  1. I like that a lot, very pretty. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. i would have to agree. it does look lovely in your library. i'm a fan.

    ReplyDelete
  3. What a sneaky husband you have! Beautiful concept though!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Awww...way to go Aaron! I love it, and it's definitely perfect for you!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love some of the cool things you can get on etsy. Sneaky, but then it was the best way to make it a surprise!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous4:45 PM

    Awwww what an awesome guy!

    ReplyDelete
  7. What an excellent trick, and what a beautiful painting. I love silhouettes. Gorgeous.

    ReplyDelete
  8. It's lovely! I'd love to see a picture of it hanging in your library.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks everyone! I'll try to get a pic of it in the room up soon.

    ReplyDelete
  10. It is lovely indeed.

    Talk about a man who doesn't let grass grow under his feet! That's some wonderfully quick thinking, indeed.


    Lucky woman you (and lucky man he :wink: )

    ReplyDelete
  11. Nice! Your DH rocks!

    And my nosiness took me to his site from your link--his photography is wonderful.

    ReplyDelete
  12. OMG! I'm totally jealous! It's a freaking gorgeous painting! Lucky you. :D

    ReplyDelete
  13. Now that is a spouse who is a keeper. What a gorgeous painting!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. That is so beautiful! I love Etsy! They have great stuff!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Azteclady, I know, right? I was impressed with his initiative. lol.

    Katy, you are sweet. He does rock. And I'm glad you enjoyed his photos!

    Trish, isn't it!? It's all thanks to your post!

    Jen, I agree. :)

    Isabelle, Etsy is amazing. I love prowling around and finding little gems like this one.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Wow! Thanks so much for your post about my painting :) It really warmed my heart to know that this piece went to someone who will love it as much as I did. It was a truly sincere work for me, as I'm an avid reader and under trees are some of my favorite places to indulge. What an awesomely thoughtful husband you have--and I would LOVE to see a pic of it in your library as well...

    Warmest,
    Hillary
    hilariagalleries.etsy.com

    ReplyDelete
  17. Wow! So pretty! I want one! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  18. I hope you do not mind, I used this picture in my blog today.

    ReplyDelete
  19. this post has excellent information.

    ReplyDelete
  20. The remarkable message

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan