Skip to main content

28 Days of Winter Escapes: A Q&A with Rachel Hawthorne

Today I'm pleased to be the official book blog partner for Harper Teen's 28 Days of Winter Escapes Tour. I'll be spotlighting young adult paranormal author Rachel Hawthorne's latest Dark Guardian novel Shadow of the Moon with an exclusive Q&A with the author herself as well as a chance to win a signed copy of the book and an iPod Touch. Please welcome Rachel Hawthorne!
Dark Guardian
Rachel Hawthorne
1. Your characters in this series are destined to be together—how do they know they’ve found the one?
They feel an immediate attraction. They can’t stop thinking about each other. But there is also an element of danger because the feelings are so intense. Sometimes they can cause one of the characters to pull back from the relationship. What the characters feel is scary, exciting, thrilling, comforting—it encompasses all emotions and makes them all seem much bigger than anything else they’ve ever experienced.
2. Transformation and love are big themes in this series—what’s your opinion about how these two things impact one another?
I believe love can transform us. It can cause us to view ourselves more positively, can give us confidence, can give us a sense of completion and feeling special. When we’re loved, it can make us strive to be more than we ever thought we could be. When we love someone, we seldom want to disappoint that person. Giving and receiving love are so intermingled that it’s difficult to separate which affects us the most, but basically love makes everything about life seem so much richer.
3. Do you believe in soul mates?
I do believe in soul mates. I don’t believe that soul mates are limited to the person with whom we’re romantically involved. I think a soul mate can be a best friend or a family member. It’s someone with whom we connect deeply and profoundly. 
4. What about love at first sight?
I think it’s rare, but I do believe it happens. Sometimes there is just a connection that can’t be explained. My parents were an example—they went to a dance without dates, looked across the room, spotted each other, and just knew the potential was there for something special to develop between them.
5. Would you rather date a werewolf, vampire, or zombie?
I would have to go with a werewolf. The animal magnetism that’s always hovering beneath the surface appeals to me. They’re warm, alive, and they have the ability to shift into a creature that will fight to defend its territory. And I think they would be terrific cuddlers.
* * *
Thank you so much, Rachel! Make sure to stop by the official 28 Days of Winter Escapes website today for a chance to win a copy of Shadow of the Moon by answering the official poll.
You can also follow the Book-A-Day giveaway tour on Twitter (using the #28daygiveaway hashtag). There are still eight more days and giveaways throughout the rest of February, so be sure to stop in for a chance to win one of the remaining books including, among others, Jellicoe Road, The Heart is Not a Size, and The Reckoning!

Comments

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan