Skip to main content

Sneaky Snippet

Because I'm still re-reading it and grinning, I figured I might as well link to the latest snippet Ilona and Gordon Andrews have released on their site in case you haven't seen it yet. This one's from Magic Bleeds (only 113 days and counting til release day *sob*) and you're gonna looooove it. Only problem is, they sneakily removed the names of the characters involved in this scene. I think we all know who they are, though, and this wait is killing me! I may have to just go re-read Magic Strikes to tide me over. Again.

Comments

  1. Oh my gosh I can't put my excitement into words!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Caitlin, my sentiments exactly.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I know from comments on the original post and her forums that there's worry it isn't who we think it is.

    Unless Andrea or some other female is sharing narrator duties, there's no question that it's Kate. There will be much despair in the fandom if it isn't His Fluffiness. The scene probably takes place toward the end of the book -- I'm guessing here -- and certainly after resolving whatever conflict they had at the start of the book.

    It's a great scene because it so rare that these two characters (if it is them) rarely have. A quiet, tender moment of comfort.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ack! That should read: It's a great scene because it so rare that these two characters (if it is them) have a quiet, tender moment of comfort.

    Changed gears, didn't go back an correct. :-(

    ReplyDelete
  5. I want to be excited for this, but I haven't even read the first yet! The series is on the TBR list. I dislike having to miss out on the excitement of a new release in an awesome YA fantasy series. Ah well, that's what breaks are for.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Christina, that's what I was thinking as well as far as the possible placement and pacing goes. And I can only imagine the howls that would erupt were it not Kate & Curran. I'm sitting here, fingers crossed, all but counting on it. lol.

    Lan, no worries! I know just how you feel. This series is definitely one to get in on when you have the chance. Though it's not YA, actually, but mainstream urban fantasy. Similar in tone to Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson series and I love them both immensely.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I don't know how she does it with just a small snippit like that - but man do they know how to reel us in!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous10:49 AM

    I pulled out my books after reading that snippet yesterday, but decided it would be a mistake to reread them now. Maybe closer to release date!

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  9. Michelle, neither do I. I'm reduced to a puddle of wanting and that is all.

    Karen, you're probably smarter than I am. I'm halfway through MAGIC STRIKES as we speak. It's gonna be a long haul...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan