Skip to main content

Woman's Last Stand

This is an unusually non-book-related post, I know, but did anyone else see the appalling ads run during the Super Bowl? I was disgusted by several of them, but Dodge's "Man's Last Stand" ad took the cake in the Outrage Angie department. In case you had the pleasure of not watching it, the ad features a series of haggard men enumerating the numerous things they've done for their women and announcing they deserve a Dodge Charger for all their sacrifices. *gag* I know it's hard for both men and women these days, especially when it comes to roles and expectations in and out of the home, workplace, social environment, etc. But I was very happy to see this completely awesome response/parody to the ad. Thanks to Diana for the heads up! Also, you should go read her post as well as Sarah Rees Brennan's on gender in YA, literature, and film. Because they are made of awesome and make me so energized I want to go climb a mountain.
Warning: there is a bit of language at the very end.

Comments

  1. That was great. Thank you! I felt like the commercials were denigrating also. Worse than usual!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Excellent! I don't think I caught that Dodge commercial during the Superbowl. Most of the commercials were crap anyway.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I feel so great about that. so great.

    ReplyDelete
  4. BTW, I tagged you with an award today: http://fewmorepages.blogspot.com/2010/02/prolific-blogger-award.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. I didn't see the commercial until today, but obvs I prefer the parody.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the link love, Angie!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh yes, I saw this yesterday. The comments for the Woman's response video from people who JUST DON'T GET IT make me feel so sad.

    ReplyDelete
  8. KB, I thought so as well. More than usual. Distasteful.

    Brenda, yeah, they did a good job with it.

    Liza, I thought you would. ;)

    Katy, well put. And thank you so much for the award!

    Lenore, obviously. I mean, wow.

    Diana, thank you for the heads up. And the insightful post.

    Janice, so you read them as well? Depressing, weren't they?

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow, that video response was awesome. I had the same negative and outraged reaction to that commercial during the SuperBowl, along with the Dockers one about wearing the pants again. Thanks for posting this!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan