Skip to main content

Darkly Luminous Treats

After finishing The Dead Travel Fast I'm in the mood for more things Gothic. So it's the perfect time to watch the trailer for The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker--the upcoming second novel in Leanna Renee Hieber's Strangely Beautiful saga.
Nice, isn't it? I love the Chopin and the lovely yet disturbing images. I truly enjoyed the first book and have been very interested to see where the sequel took Percy, Alexi, and all the Guard. Leanna has posted four excerpts from the new book to tide you over until the April 27th release date. Enjoy!

Comments

  1. I would never have looked twice at this book. But, after watching that...I'll probably by it. You know me! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I must confess that I wasn't blown away by the first one. I liked the dancing scene, and the sexual tension was well done, but the plot - I was always getting confused, and the ending was...well, I had to keep rereading to figure out what was happening.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I don't know where I've been that I haven't visited your blog before but I'm so glad to be here now. After reading just a few of your posts I know I'm going to like it here.

    It was so nice meeting you the other night.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Jennie, lol. The first one worked for me, even when I didn't think it would. I'm looking forward to this one!

    Raspberry, *grin* I can see that happening easily. It did get really dramatic and chaotic at the end. I guess I ended up caring about Percy and Alexi a lot and I was so mad at the rest for not trusting them that I read through to make sure good would out.

    Kim, and I'm happy to have you! :) It was great to meet you, too. I hope you enjoy the book. Though I should warn you there is a fair amount of language in it--what with the war and all...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan