Skip to main content

How I Live Now: The Movie

I am so thrilled to tell you that Meg Rosoff has announced that she sold the film rights to her fabulous dystopian novel How I Live Now! They've got a director and a script and everything. This book is one of my most beloved. Perfect in every way. I even named my daughter after one of the characters in it. Even though they could screw it up royally, I will be seeing it the day it comes out. Because what if they got even one scene just exactly right? Like, say, the day they go swimming. Sigh. Ms. Rosoff has a hilarious FAQ post up on her blog in which she assures readers they will not cast Meryl Streep as Daisy, the story will not be reset in Orange County, and the film will most likely be released late next year. All of which is music to my ears.

Comments

  1. Guess I should go ahead and read it! I hope it lives up to your hopes and expectations!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Huh. I am curious to see how they will pull this off. Esp. the mild incest.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ohhh - goody! And those FAQs were made of awesome.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Amy, you should! It's gorgeous. And I hope so, too. :)

    Jenny, I imagine it will go down similar to the book. It is what it is. But it will be interesting to see how much they play up the family connection or not.

    Michelle, I know! I was delighted.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Awesome! Here's to hoping they do a good job . . . =)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh, that's great news! Now all that's left for me to do is to actually read the book, who's been sitting in my TBR pile forever!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Cam, seriously. Fingers crossed.

    Kay, lol. Bump it up, woman. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wow, she thinks the script is better than the book?

    Some authors, I'd think they're exaggerating or being nice. Based on what little I've read about/by Rosoff, she doesn't seem the type.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Trisha, I know. I found myself thinking the same thing. She thinks it's better? Um, wow...

    ReplyDelete
  10. I became interested in literature recently, and I think that reading books is the best thing it happened to me since the invention of the cinemas, I like to read suspense novels and also literature about short movies.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous8:23 AM

    Well I think it will be a great film. However, I need more opinions. Why do you think it will be a successful film or not? I would be really grateful if I receive some opinions.

    This will be a good film as it would be a great way of introducing moral responsibility to those on the threshold of adulthood. But what do you think?

    ReplyDelete
  12. great post, i really like, you did a great job.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Anonymous6:08 AM

    I read this book two years ago, and absolutely loved it! I was hoping they would make a movie of it and I'm thrilled that they chose Saoirse Ronan for Daisy

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan