Skip to main content

How I Live Now: The Movie

I am so thrilled to tell you that Meg Rosoff has announced that she sold the film rights to her fabulous dystopian novel How I Live Now! They've got a director and a script and everything. This book is one of my most beloved. Perfect in every way. I even named my daughter after one of the characters in it. Even though they could screw it up royally, I will be seeing it the day it comes out. Because what if they got even one scene just exactly right? Like, say, the day they go swimming. Sigh. Ms. Rosoff has a hilarious FAQ post up on her blog in which she assures readers they will not cast Meryl Streep as Daisy, the story will not be reset in Orange County, and the film will most likely be released late next year. All of which is music to my ears.

Comments

  1. Guess I should go ahead and read it! I hope it lives up to your hopes and expectations!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Huh. I am curious to see how they will pull this off. Esp. the mild incest.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ohhh - goody! And those FAQs were made of awesome.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Amy, you should! It's gorgeous. And I hope so, too. :)

    Jenny, I imagine it will go down similar to the book. It is what it is. But it will be interesting to see how much they play up the family connection or not.

    Michelle, I know! I was delighted.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Awesome! Here's to hoping they do a good job . . . =)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh, that's great news! Now all that's left for me to do is to actually read the book, who's been sitting in my TBR pile forever!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Cam, seriously. Fingers crossed.

    Kay, lol. Bump it up, woman. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wow, she thinks the script is better than the book?

    Some authors, I'd think they're exaggerating or being nice. Based on what little I've read about/by Rosoff, she doesn't seem the type.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Trisha, I know. I found myself thinking the same thing. She thinks it's better? Um, wow...

    ReplyDelete
  10. I became interested in literature recently, and I think that reading books is the best thing it happened to me since the invention of the cinemas, I like to read suspense novels and also literature about short movies.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous8:23 AM

    Well I think it will be a great film. However, I need more opinions. Why do you think it will be a successful film or not? I would be really grateful if I receive some opinions.

    This will be a good film as it would be a great way of introducing moral responsibility to those on the threshold of adulthood. But what do you think?

    ReplyDelete
  12. great post, i really like, you did a great job.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Anonymous6:08 AM

    I read this book two years ago, and absolutely loved it! I was hoping they would make a movie of it and I'm thrilled that they chose Saoirse Ronan for Daisy

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan