Skip to main content

Upon Finishing Peter Pan

In the Big Bed

WILL: Why did it call the children heartless?
ANGIE: I think it meant they were able to leave their families, forget about it all, and fly away with Peter.
WILL: *nods* I would.
ANGIE: I can't imagine being able to resist.

On the way into bed

ANGIE: You're not going to fly out the window tonight if Peter comes while I'm sleeping, are you?
WILL: I hope so!
ANGIE: Well, I'll be sure to leave the window open for you just in case. So you can come back.
WILL: It's a deal, Mommy.

WILL: *snuggles up in his bed and goes to sleep*
ANGIE: *sobs quietly into her pillow*

Fin.

Comments

  1. Oh!
    I can't wait until my kid is old enough for something besides Goodnight Gorilla. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Awww! You're such a good mommy!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh man that is heart wrenching and so cute at the same time!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous10:36 AM

    That was such a wonderful reaction to Will's "I would" Angie. I do not have children, but I understand the sobs.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  5. Angie, you're such a good mom. I wouldn't have had the strength to say what you did. I would have surely made him sleep in my bed that night and locked all of the windows. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. *sob* Still, beautiful...I can't wait.

    ReplyDelete
  7. What a beautiful tale from your life, Angie!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Aww, what a lucky little boy he is to have you as a mom. This is so sweet.

    ReplyDelete
  9. *sigh* Once again Daddy is crying before noon on a Monday. So manly. So composed.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Love this post; inspired me to come out of lurkdom, even. It's bittersweet, isn't it, watching them flex their wings. Mine are at Camp Grandma for a couple of days and while it's nice to have some adult "alone" time and it's good they're both confident enough to be away a couple of days (first time for the four 1/2 year old), it's also sad.
    Thanks for sharing. Gotta start Peter Pan with my seven year old next. I'll be prepared for the sniffles.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Raspberry, lots to look forward to. :)

    Reenie, lol, well if frequency of tears shed is any indication...

    Liza, my thoughts exactly. *sigh*

    Karen, oh man. It was a heart wrenching evening.

    Christine, hehe. I know the feeling.

    Elizabeth, lol. You know.

    Ladybug, I've been trying to include a few more of those here on the blog.

    CJ, he definitely handled it better than I did. Though he was heartbroken when he realized Wendy forgot how to fly and the Lost Boys grew up.

    Aaron, *grin* I love you.

    zee, hey, thanks for delurking! Nice to know there are others out there. It's incredibly bittersweet and your emotions feel almost always twisted up. But it's such a moving experience. And I know what you mean about the good and the bad of it. I hope you enjoy Peter Pan with your 7-year-old. I definitely should have had a tissue on hand. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. Should not read this while I'm coursing with pregnancy hormones. SOB!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Awww, another beautiful post about your Peter Pan reading. You're such a wonderful mom!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Janssen, LOL. I'm sorry! I've been there.

    Chachic, the problem now is I have no idea what to follow it up with...

    ReplyDelete
  15. ((((Angie))))

    You are a wise, wise woman.

    And you'll keep that window open when he does fly away--he'll come back to visit, and he'll never forget he *can*


    Thank you for reminding us of that.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Goodness, my little Peter is never allowed to get that big. It's gonna happen way too fast.

    ReplyDelete
  17. azteclady, thanks for the hugs. And the very kind words.

    Michelle, oh dear, I foresee some sobbing in your future... :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. *sob* I shall remember that response though, just perfect

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan