Skip to main content

Tell Me What to Read: Round 2

Phew! Here we are again. Time for Round 2 of Tell Me What to Read. I know, I know. It's already mid-May, you say. To which I respond, better late than never, right? So bring on the suggestions! Tell me what book I should read in the last half of this month. It can be any genre, any age level, and have been published last week or three hundred years ago. You can pick it because it's a book that everyone should read or because it changed your life or because it is great literature or just because it entertained you. I do have to warn you, though. May has been pretty sweet to me reading-wise thus far. So be sure to hit me with your best shot. 


Here's how it goes:
  1. Comment with the title and author of one book you think I should read (any book you want). One title only, please, lest my brain explode.
  2. I'll select one comment at random.
  3. On the off-chance that I've already read the book you select, I'll contact you and ask for a follow-up suggestion (make sure there is a way to contact you either by blog or email).
  4. I'll get a copy of the book and read it by the end of the month (or so....).
  5. I'll write a review of it here. Even if I hate the book, I will not hate you.
And. . .go!

Comments

  1. Marcello in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

    ReplyDelete
  2. The Light of Asteria: Kailmeyra's Last Hope by Elizabeth Isaacs

    ReplyDelete
  3. A Wish After Midnight by Zetta Elliott

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous9:38 AM

    ok this is a very very random one, but based on our mutual childhood fantasy faves:

    The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner published in 1960

    ReplyDelete
  5. I just can't pass this up, Angie.

    The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

    ReplyDelete
  6. Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. You'll love it

    ReplyDelete
  7. I'm going to keep plugging Northland, by Meg Burden....

    ReplyDelete
  8. Nothing But Blue Skies, by Tom Holt

    ReplyDelete
  9. Spellbent by Lucy A. Snyder

    ReplyDelete
  10. Lauren Jean10:53 AM

    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows was one of those reads that was the right book at the right time for me. I loved it. lauren_jean(at)hotmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Except the Queen by Jane Yolen and Midori Snyder!

    ReplyDelete
  12. 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Touched by an Alien- Gini Koch. Its hilarious, sexy and filled with alpha males galore.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Ellyll12:26 PM

    Trick of the Light, by Rob Thurman

    ReplyDelete
  16. Mistborn, by Brandon Sanderson

    ReplyDelete
  17. This goes without saying (and I'm assuming you're waiting for a copy) -- Magic Bleeds

    Yes, I've read it and yes it's as good as Kmont says it is. ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  18. Madapple by Christina Meldrum

    ReplyDelete
  19. Anonymous2:26 PM

    Audrey Wait! by Robyn Benway. I don't remember if you've already read and reviewed this one. It's funny and sweet! KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  20. Ahhh, feeling slightly uninspired here...

    Cotillion, Georgette Heyer

    ReplyDelete
  21. Prom Dates From Hell by Rosemary Clement-Moore (and both sequels, if you like that one).

    It's about a high school senior who finds out she has demon-fighting powers (slightly Buffy but without the vampires). Very funny, and it's a crime that the series isn't more popular.

    ReplyDelete
  22. Precious Bane by Mary Webb. A book that changed my life. Not easy reading, but worth every second.

    ReplyDelete
  23. The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. Because you are a professed Anglophile, I've been wanting to recommend this to you for a while. Fforde creates one of the craziest, most fun worlds I've ever had the pleasure to encounter.

    ReplyDelete
  24. Tamora Pierce's CIRCLE series! I know her Tortall series are more popular but these are just as excellent. I especially recommend THE WILL OF THE EMPRESS, which has loads of court intrigue and other great stuff but it's not the first book to introduce the characters, but just overall: Tamora Pierce's Circle stuff =0)

    ReplyDelete
  25. A Girl Named Disaster, by Nancy Farmer.

    I think this was my suggestion last time too.

    IT MUST BE READ!

    ReplyDelete
  26. Oh, what fun!

    Transformation by Carol Berg.

    ReplyDelete
  27. It's so hard to narrow down the recommendation to just one book! I see that you have Crown Duel in your Beloved Bookshelf so I'm recommending A Stranger to Command, which is the prequel. It tells the story of Vidanric when he went off to Marloven Hess to study in the military academy. I put off reading this for the longest time because Mel wasn't in it but surprisingly, I still enjoyed the story. If you've already read this one then I suggest another Sherwood Smith book: Once A Princess, which is the first book in the Sasharia en Garde duology and is set in the same world as Crown Duel. I'd love to know what you think of these. :)

    ReplyDelete
  28. I'm going to go with Rachel Neumeier's THE CITY IN THE LAKE.

    ReplyDelete
  29. The Smart One & the Pretty One by Claire LaZebnik.

    ReplyDelete
  30. Nobody's Princess by Esther M. Friesner if you have read this already let me know and I'll post another :)

    ReplyDelete
  31. Oh fun!

    Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony

    ReplyDelete
  32. A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers :)

    ReplyDelete
  33. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  34. You've made this hard...

    I was going to suggest Finnikin of the Rock but I noticed you didn't like that too much.
    Then I was going to be creative and suggest The President's Daughter by E.E. White, but alas, you've already read it! (Long Live the Queen was my favorite of the 4)

    So I'll go with When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead.

    If you've already read that let me know. Reddyrat [at] gmail [dot] com. I have some other ideas.

    ReplyDelete
  35. Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman. It's really fun modern adaptation of the anansi stories. It's sort of a sequel to American Gods, but really stands on its own. I actually read it before the latter. It will make you laugh out loud, and feel really good. I would say it's my favorite of Neil Gaiman's works.

    ReplyDelete
  36. Have you read Katherine by Anya Seton? I guess we'll see!

    ReplyDelete
  37. Brother to Dragons, Companion to Owls by Jane Lindskold.

    ReplyDelete
  38. TIffany M.11:51 PM

    Garden Spells, Sugar Queen, or The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen. Any of them are good if you're in the mood for magical realism.

    ReplyDelete
  39. Anonymous2:17 AM

    French Kiss (Diary of a Crush, book 1) by Sarra Manning. It was first published on J17 (a teen magazine in England):

    http://sarramanning.blogspot.com/2005/07/diary-of-crush-i-gave-you-best-years.html

    I loved it

    ReplyDelete
  40. Hi Angie, I messed up in my typing--I meant, of course, Northlander, by Meg Burden. sorry!

    ReplyDelete
  41. 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society' by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. This one has been sitting on my shelf for months and I just read it and I am now repeatedly kicking myself for waiting so long. Books, good friends, love, travel. You too, I think, will adore it.

    ReplyDelete
  42. lol. We read so much of the same stuff it's hard to pick something you haven't probably already read!

    Have you tried The Karma Club by Jessica Brody? I just finished it. It was cute.

    ReplyDelete
  43. Anonymous4:16 PM

    One For the Morning Glory by John Barnes.

    I can be contacted through my LJ, linked above.

    ReplyDelete
  44. Lorraine5:28 PM

    A GAME OF THRONES by George R.R. Martin. If you liked Lord of the Rings, this is a must-read :)

    ReplyDelete
  45. You have to try Fat Cat by Robin Brande. It was one of the best YA books that I read last year.

    ReplyDelete
  46. My husband would second the George R R Martin. He's been after me to read those books for years.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan