Skip to main content

The Dawn Treader and Mercy in the Making

A couple of fun images for you guys today.

First off, my artist brother-in-law came across this demonstration that artist Dan Dos Santos did for the oil painting process he went through on the artwork for the cover of Moon Called--the first Mercy Thompson novel. Adam thought it was awesome and that I'd like it and he was right on both counts. I thought you would as well. I have to say, I really sort of love that first sketch, even if it didn't end up in the final cover. Enjoy!

Second, the official trailer for The Voyage of the Dawn Treader film is out and my boy and I are so excited we can hardly wait. The scene where the water comes pouring out of the picture on the wall gave me chills. It's set to come out right around his birthday so I already know what we'll be doing to celebrate...

Comments

  1. wow!! that demonstration is amazing. i am a serious mercy thompson fan girl, so this just makes me love you more!! and that trailer is amazing! love love love narnia with a fiery passion

    ReplyDelete
  2. Gorgeous. Both the trailer and the picture. :)Thanks for posting them!

    ReplyDelete
  3. The trailer worries me. That's a LOT of White Witch going on there. It was fine they brought her back last time -- she WAS around, briefly, in PC. But not in VDT. What are they thinking heading into that well again? That they need a "big bad" and VDT doesn't have one?

    VDT is my favorite of the books. I sincerely hope they don't mess it up.

    ReplyDelete
  4. There are things about that trailer that worry me, including the White Witch and the "Narnia depends on you now!" thing, but I am excited like a little girl because of how pretty the ship is and how it looks exactly how I pictured it. I need another trailer straightaway, but with more Eustace Clarence Scrubb in it this time.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Carla, lol! Well, I'm glad. I really loved getting a sneak peek into the cover creation process. And I can't wait for the movie.

    Sami, you bet.

    Diana, yeah, the White Witch reprisal thing caught me off guard as well. I know it's your favorite, mine as well, I've got my fingers crossed. Could go either way for sure. But the water pouring out and them surfacing to see the ship--really did give me chills. There's nothing like reading that book.

    Jenny, yes, that's my request as well. More Eustace! I was worried not to see any of him and the dragon. You can't lose that part, Walden!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I sure do love all things Narnia!

    ReplyDelete
  7. If they lose Eustace and the Dragon, they are going to drown in a Last-Sea sized flood of angry letters. And it won't taste as good.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous11:50 AM

    I have been wondering what is behind this gorgeous banner in your blog, now I know :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. BookRants, as do I. :)

    Diana, amen.

    Emily, yup. I've very much enjoyed marrying into an artistic family.

    ReplyDelete
  10. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader is my favorite Narnia book. I hadn't seen the trailer, so thanks for posting it. It looks fantastic, and now I can't wait to see it!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan