Skip to main content

Tell Me What to Read: Round 4

Tomorrow if the first of July, which means it's time for Round 4 of Tell Me What to Read. The suggestion box is open for business. Tell me what book I should read this month. It can be any genre, any age level, and have been published last week or three hundred years ago. You can pick it because it's a book that everyone should read or because it changed your life or because it is great literature or just because it entertained you. So far we've had two fantasies and one contemporary YA. What will this month bring? 
As my friend and inspiration Janssen says--here's how it goes:
  1. Comment with the title and author of one book you think I should read (any book you want). One title only, please, lest my brain explode.
  2. I'll select one comment at random.
  3. On the off-chance that I've already read the book you select, I'll contact you and ask for a follow-up suggestion (make sure there is a way to contact you either by blog or email).
  4. I'll get a copy of the book and read it by the end of the month (or so....).
  5. I'll write a review of it here. Even if I hate the book, I will not hate you.
And. . .go!

Comments

  1. I'll keep on leaving this title until I get lucky. :)

    A Girl Named Disaster, by Nancy Farmer

    ReplyDelete
  2. 'The Bikini Car Wash' by Pamela Morsi. A fab summer read!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm writing a guest post for genrereviews (going up tomorrow) and recommending some reads. I'm going to recommend SILVER METAL LOVER by Tanith Lee. You should read it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Harmonic Feedback by Tara Kelly. I just finished it and it's a must read!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous9:33 AM

    "French Kiss (Diary of a Crush, Book 1) " by Sarra Manning it was published MANY YEARS ago, contemporary YA

    ReplyDelete
  6. You already know what *I* want you to read... ;)

    Kaz

    ReplyDelete
  7. Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer.

    You will not be sorry

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous10:18 AM

    The Iron King by Julie Kagawa - I read it recently and really enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ellyll10:25 AM

    I'm sorry, I keep repeating myself. ;)

    Trick of the Light, by Rob Thurman. Best female urban fantasy lead ever. :) Great characters (the kind you love forever), outstanding plot, and a wonderful twist at the end.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Daphne10:34 AM

    A Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens. I just read it, and it's amazing.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Happy All the Time, by Laurie Colwin.

    (Follow-up comments are enabled to go to my email.)

    Liz

    ReplyDelete
  12. I just read and reviewed 32 Candles by Ernessa T. Carter and I really enjoyed it. It's a funny and touching adult novel that puts a twist on the film Sixteen Candles, with the main character being a Southern black woman that has a boatload of issues.

    ReplyDelete
  13. A Spy in the House by Y. S. Lee
    And don't wait till you have to - read it! Seriously. I've been watching your blog for a while now and you'll love it....

    ReplyDelete
  14. I'm going to repeat myself again too: A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers. It's a book that CAN'T (and shouldn't) be ignored...

    ReplyDelete
  15. I'm running out of suggestions for you! But since I did a Retro Friday post of A Stranger to Command, I thought I'd suggest that one. :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Tiffany M.7:19 PM

    Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves. Not perfect for everyone, but definitely perfect for me. Check out the summary first to see it's up your alley. ^^

    ReplyDelete
  17. Myrrhine10:01 PM

    I'm going to keep trying my luck at this as well so once again:

    The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud.

    I secretly believe you will love it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. I think you should read Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. I can't believe you haven't read it already. (#2 &3 in the series not so great, but this one is good)

    Just be prepared to start obsessing over your food storage ;)

    ReplyDelete
  19. Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy...but only if you want to be uplifted, devastated, moved... and your lens on life and beauty to be forever and inextricably altered.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I hate to be unoriginal but two of the aforementioned suggestions are such pure awesomeness that I have to reinforce their nominations; namely:

    The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud

    and

    Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer


    :O)

    ReplyDelete
  21. These is My Words. Oh my word, did I love that book.

    ReplyDelete
  22. Katie8:02 AM

    The China Garden by Liz Berry

    or

    The Post-Office Girl by Stefan Zweig

    ReplyDelete
  23. Ronia, the Robber's Daughter by Astrid Lindgren. I loved it as a child. :)

    ReplyDelete
  24. Okay, I tried to check and don't see that you've reviewed it. I read White Cat by Holly Black and I really liked it. Why not give that a go if you haven't already?

    ReplyDelete
  25. I have to sneak in my suggestion again. Jasper Fforde's The Eyre Affair. How could you not want to read a book by an author whose last name is spelled so fantastically?

    ReplyDelete
  26. Dead to Me by Anton Strout - Great Paranormal Mystery (I just finished reading #3)

    ReplyDelete
  27. Kayla2:19 PM

    Un Lun Dun by China Mieville :)

    ReplyDelete
  28. Still hoping I'll get someone else to read Precious Bane by Mary Webb...

    ReplyDelete
  29. Madapple by Christina Meldrum

    ReplyDelete
  30. Monster by Walter Dean Myers - it's quite thought provoking and a very quick read!

    ReplyDelete
  31. The Forbidden Game Series by L.J. Smith (A omnibus edition has been reissued recently!)

    ReplyDelete
  32. Anonymous10:11 PM

    Wise Child by Monica Furlong. Just typing this suggestion makes me want to reread, and right quick.

    ReplyDelete
  33. Anonymous12:21 AM

    The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

    ReplyDelete
  34. Once again I'm putting in my vote for Galax-Arena by Gillian Rubenstein

    ReplyDelete
  35. I'll add 'Sir Apropos of Nothing' by Peter David again :)

    Elizabeth

    ReplyDelete
  36. Except the Queen by Jane Yolen and Midori Snyder

    ReplyDelete
  37. Anonymous11:12 PM

    This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan