Skip to main content

The Book of Love . . .

". . . is long and boring
no one can lift the damn thing
it's full of charts and facts and figures
and instructions for dancing
But I
I love it when you read to me
And you
You can read me anything"
--Stephin Merritt
Okay, I had to post this awesome bit of fan art based on Alan Ryves from Sarah Rees Brennan's Demon's Lexicon trilogy. I love it (obviously) for the Alan on display (even if he is with the wrong girl, but we can get into that later) and for the well-chosen song lyrics. The Magnetic Fields' song "The Book of Love" is awesome and here's the Peter Gabriel cover for your listening pleasure. Because it's my favorite.

Comments

  1. I haven't picked up Demon's Lexicon yet but... I just love this song. If it goes well with the book, then I think I might just love DL.

    And that fanart is lovely :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love it! It's such a beautiful quote too. Even if it does say "damn" in it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous12:00 PM

    So pretty! I've been hearing so much about Demon's Lexicon, I really need to pick that up :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh gorgeous I LOVE that. I agree, clearly the wrong girl! But he hasn't kissed the right girl yet so I'll let it go :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great post! I have 69 Love Songs on my iTunes and I haven't read The Demon's Lexicon but it is on my TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous1:29 PM

    I don't know Peter Gabriel very well and I haven't read this one yet but I love those lyrics and if you say the book it's good, it must be good

    ReplyDelete
  7. Pirate, I think it goes quite well. Certainly with Alan. Who I think you just might love. :)

    Sami, lol. Yep.

    Liza, thought you might enjoy that.

    Emily, pick it up! Pick it up!

    Alexa, amen to that. But he will. I just know it...

    Liz, 69 Songs is amazing, isn't it? I love that version, too.

    Emily, those lyrics...I love them. Think you'd enjoy these books as well. Really enjoy them. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. So you like Alan/Sin?

    I'm not sure who I'd pair Alan with, but I'm a total Nick/Jamie shipper. They're adorable together.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love this its so beautiful I'm retweeting it!

    ReplyDelete
  10. This song is amazing. I've never heard it before but I really like it.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I love this song (it was on my wedding playlist, so it's special to me) and I just added Demon's Lexicon to my wishlist. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. Love that artwork! The guy in that picture is perfect for Alan. About that thing you said that he's not with the right girl, who should he with? Sin? :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yes. Alan and Mae? Would. Not. Work.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Liviana, I do. Alan + Sin FTW! I also adore any scene Nick and Jamie are in together. Too funny.

    Caitlin, thanks for retweeting it and I'm glad you liked it! I sort of couldn't not post it...

    firepages, isn't it?? I fell in love instantly upon hearing it.

    Tara, awww. That's wonderful. I would definitely have put it on mine. And I'm all excited you put TDL on your list. It's teh bomb.

    Chachic, I know! That's what really makes it. He looks just like Alan to me. And yes, Alan must be with Sin. It will all play out beautifully. I just know it. :)

    Michelle, nope. Nope, nope, nope. As much as I was in raptures over that kitchen kiss...Mae is in love with Nick. And I want to see what happens there. Also, Alan is not allowed to have his heart stomped on anymore and Mae might unintentionally do. Plus, I really cannot wait to watch that flinch of Sin's whenever Alan limps by turn into a totally different--and most excellent--reaction. *rubs hands together*

    ReplyDelete
  15. LOL, Angie, I just checked by the replies to this post and I love what you said to Michelle. Yes, it would indeed be perfect if Mae and Nick ended up together and Alan gets together with Sin. They all deserve to be happy!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan