Skip to main content

What I'm Going to Read: Round 4

And the randomly selected winner is Happy All the Time by Laurie Colwin, as suggested by Old school librarian. 

I have never heard of this book or this author before and that's always an enticing prospect. Who knows what one will find between the covers? It looks like my local library does have a copy in so I will be stopping in quite soon to get started on July's book.

Here is the full list of suggestions:
• A Girl Named Disasterhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0140386351 by Nancy Farmer (Ceci)
• The Bikini Car Washhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0778327817 by Pamela Morsi (SarahT)
• The Silver Metal Loverhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0553581279http://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0553581279 by Tanith Lee (Janicu)
• Harmonic Feedbackhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=080509010X by Tara Kelly (Alexa)
• Frenchman's Creekhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=1402217102 by Daphne du Maurier (Karen Mahoney)
• Life as We Knew Ithttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0152061541 by Susan Beth Pfeffer (EmilyMichelle, and Amy)
• The Iron Kinghttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0373210086 by Julie Kagawa (Ashley)
• Trick of the Lighthttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0451462882 by Rob Thurman (Ellyll)
• A Tale of Two Citieshttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=1448625025 by Charles Dickens (Daphne)
• Happy All the Timehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0307474402 by Laurie Colwin (Old school Librarian)
• 32 Candleshttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0061957844 by Ernessa T. Carter (Jacqueline C.)
• A Spy in the Househttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0763640670 by Y.S. Lee (Raspberry)
• A Voice in the Windhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0842377506 by Francine Rivers (pirate penguin)
• A Stranger to Commandhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=1934648566 by Sherwood Smith (Chachic)
• Bleeding Violethttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=1416986189 by Dia Reeves (Tiffany M.)
• The Amulet of Samarkandhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B001736FDK by Jonathan Stroud (Myrrhine and Amy)
• Autobiography of a Facehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0060569662 by Lucy Grealy (Andrea Harris)
• These is My Wordshttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0061458031 by Nancy Turner (Janssen)
• The China Gardenhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0380732289 by Liz Berry (Katie)
• Ronia, the Robber's Daughterhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0140317201 by Astrid Lindgren (Misti)
• White Cathttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=1416963960 by Holly Black (Samantha R)
• The Eyre Affairhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0142001805 by Jasper Fforde (JoLee)
• Dead to Mehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0441015786 by Anton Strout (MarnieCollette)
• Un Lun Dunhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0345458443 by China Mieville (Kayla)
• Precious Banehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=1443734888 by Mary Webb (melissa @ 1lbr)
• Madapplehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=B002KE5VXK by Christina Meldrum (Emily)
• Monsterhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0064407314 by Walter Dean Myers (April)
• The Forbidden Gamehttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=0671017160 series by L.J. Smith (myztified)
Wise Child by Monica Furlong (ladyjoust)
The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (lasrisas)
Galax-Arena by Gillian Rubinstein (Katy)
• Except the Queen by Jane Yolen and Midori Snyder (Christine)

Of these, I have already read:
• A Tale of Two Citieshttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=angiegirl&l=btl&camp=213689&creative=392969&o=1&a=1448625025 by Charles Dickens
• Wise Child by Monica Furlong (ladyjoust)
• The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova (lasrisas)

Thanks everyone!

Comments

  1. Anonymous9:51 AM

    I've been meaning to read something by Laurie Colwin for several years because I've heard wonderful things about her by other authors. I hope you enjoy Happy All the Time!

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  2. Karen, yeah, I'm looking forward to seeing what it's like. Glad you've heard wonderful things!

    ReplyDelete
  3. When I was in my 20s, I loved, loved, loved this book. There are a couple of other Laurie Colwin books that I also loved. I wonder how it will read today.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan