Skip to main content

In Which I Finish Mockingjay

And all I have to say (at this incredibly late hour) is

Holy. Crap. 

Oh, and


Always.

Comments

  1. Oooh must be really good then! Can't wait to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wasn't it incredible? I already want to read it again!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agree. The book's resolution was both different and better than I had ever anticipated. I had expected to be disappointed by certain aspects of the outcome, but ultimately I wasn't. And that is some good writing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh yes Team Katniss definitely. It was a brilliant conclusion, I loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Loved it. When will you share your more detailed thoughts oh trusted reader friend?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Makayla7:47 AM

    I wanted to cry like a baby when I was done. AMAZING.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love that you stayed up so late to finish it. I'm sure that will be me sometime soon. :o)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Someday I'll read these....

    Feeling really out of touch with this release...

    :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yay! Glad to see more Team Katniss out there!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I did cry like a baby when it was over. I'm reading a lot of people who weren't happy with it, or at least certain aspects, but I thought it was excellent. Not perfect, but very very good.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Chachic, it really really is. REALLY. :)

    Lori, in a word--yes!

    RJ, precisely. I was ready to be upset over a couple of things and, almost out of the blue, I wasn't. Damn fine storytelling.

    Alexa, wasn't it? My mind is still spinning a bit, actually. And I may have read the last few pages several times...

    Amy, *grin* soon! Stuck back at work again at the present moment. Grrr.

    Makayla, you know I cried at the most unexpected moments. Took me by surprise. But, wow, the end. There were tears.

    Alicia, I'm sure it will be. There's just no stopping past a certain point. And it's not that far in at all. :)

    Britt, yeah. I recommend them. Incredible entertainment.

    Enna, yup. I was so behind her. All the way.

    Brenda, well, how could you not? It was stunning to see it all come to a conclusion like that. Are there really that many unhappy with it? That's too bad. There were a couple threads that I'm not sure went in the direction I think they would have or should have. But I have to say I ended it unbelievably pleased.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm re-reading it now. My brain kept jumping ahead and I don't feel that I was adequately able to stay in the moment for most of the book. But it was that way with the first two, too.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Jena, they really are the kind of books that keep your brain hopping, aren't they?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …