Skip to main content

In Which I Finish Mockingjay

And all I have to say (at this incredibly late hour) is

Holy. Crap. 

Oh, and


Always.

Comments

  1. Oooh must be really good then! Can't wait to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wasn't it incredible? I already want to read it again!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I agree. The book's resolution was both different and better than I had ever anticipated. I had expected to be disappointed by certain aspects of the outcome, but ultimately I wasn't. And that is some good writing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh yes Team Katniss definitely. It was a brilliant conclusion, I loved it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Loved it. When will you share your more detailed thoughts oh trusted reader friend?

    ReplyDelete
  6. Makayla7:47 AM

    I wanted to cry like a baby when I was done. AMAZING.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love that you stayed up so late to finish it. I'm sure that will be me sometime soon. :o)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Someday I'll read these....

    Feeling really out of touch with this release...

    :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yay! Glad to see more Team Katniss out there!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I did cry like a baby when it was over. I'm reading a lot of people who weren't happy with it, or at least certain aspects, but I thought it was excellent. Not perfect, but very very good.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Chachic, it really really is. REALLY. :)

    Lori, in a word--yes!

    RJ, precisely. I was ready to be upset over a couple of things and, almost out of the blue, I wasn't. Damn fine storytelling.

    Alexa, wasn't it? My mind is still spinning a bit, actually. And I may have read the last few pages several times...

    Amy, *grin* soon! Stuck back at work again at the present moment. Grrr.

    Makayla, you know I cried at the most unexpected moments. Took me by surprise. But, wow, the end. There were tears.

    Alicia, I'm sure it will be. There's just no stopping past a certain point. And it's not that far in at all. :)

    Britt, yeah. I recommend them. Incredible entertainment.

    Enna, yup. I was so behind her. All the way.

    Brenda, well, how could you not? It was stunning to see it all come to a conclusion like that. Are there really that many unhappy with it? That's too bad. There were a couple threads that I'm not sure went in the direction I think they would have or should have. But I have to say I ended it unbelievably pleased.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm re-reading it now. My brain kept jumping ahead and I don't feel that I was adequately able to stay in the moment for most of the book. But it was that way with the first two, too.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Jena, they really are the kind of books that keep your brain hopping, aren't they?

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan