Skip to main content

Monday Morning Visits

Phew. Back from a weekend trip and trying to get caught up on everything from family to work to blog, etc. Just a couple of stops worth making this Monday morning.
Penguin interviewed the very lovely Moira Moore about her Heroes series and the recently released fifth installment--Heroes Return. You can read my review of the book here, but I definitely suggest going over and checking out the Penguin interview for a fix on all your Lee & Taro needs.
Lenore of Presenting Lenore is in full swing mode during her Dystopian August extravaganza! She's got interviews, giveaways, roundups of blogger reviews of dystopian books, and more. So if you've been wanting to read a dystopian novel and review it on your site, now is your chance to join in and see what all the fuss is about.
Lastly, the Book Smugglers are pressing forward with their second annual Young Adult Appreciation Month. They're churning out lots and lots of reviews of young adult novels, including Ana's take on a favorite of mine--How I Live Now--and there are author interviews, giveaways, and fun galore. Stop on by and be sure to contribute your own post on YA on the 15th!

Comments

  1. Thanks for linking to Dystopian August! It's been so fun so far, and way more to come!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for the Moira Moore link. I had no idea she was a lawyer!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous2:40 PM

    I hope you had a great trip!

    Thanks for linking to the Moira J Moore interview. I loved what she had to say about music, Japan and her influences. You know I love when Lee reacts to music and wish it happened more often. It's uncomfortable for her, but it always leads to fun outcomes. The interview also made me remember how much I enjoyed reading Heroes Adrift. Taro's discomfort was so entertaining!

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  4. Anonymous2:41 PM

    By the way, the interview didn't indicate whether there's a 7th book, which concerns me. But I'm glad she said she's having fun writing the 6th.

    Karen

    ReplyDelete
  5. Lenore, I can tell! I'm glad I'm back and can keep tabs on everything. :)

    Michelle, yup. Listening to her talk about her two jobs fascinates me. They seem so very different and such great ways of channeling her strengths.

    Karen, it was great. Incredibly busy, but great. And I agree with you completely on Lee and her reaction to music. It's a genius touch in her books and it really should play a larger role. So Taro can save her some more and so there could be some really excellent stuff between them. ;) It's her one weakness and it should be explored more. That one time in HEROES ADRIFT hasn't been quite enough for me...

    And I, too, am very worried about the lack of mention of a 7th book. I know right now she only has a contract through book six, but hopefully Ace will buy another one, if that's what she needs to wrap up the series satisfactorily.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion, Vols. 1 & 2 by Beth Brower

I feel a bit giddy finally talking to you all about this series. If you'll remember, I fell madly in love with The Q  when it came out a few years ago. Now, Beth Brower is writing The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion — a series of novellas set in London in 1883. Each volume is an excerpt from the incorrigible Emma's journals, and the first two volumes are already available with the third on the way soon. I think they'd make rather perfect pandemic reading. Humorous and charming down to their bones, they're just what the doctor ordered to lift your spirits in this uncertain time that just proves to be too much some days. If you're experiencing one of those days, I suggest giving Volume 1   a go (it's only 99 cents on Kindle, $4.99 for a trade paperback copy). It will surprise exactly none of you that I own print and digital editions of both volumes.  Miss Emma M. Lion has waited long enough. Come hell or high water (and really, given her track record,  both a

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of