Skip to main content

2010 Cybils

It's a little difficult to believe, but it's that time of year again. The Cybils are right around the corner and the panelists and judges have been announced. This will be my third outing working on a panel for the Cybils and I couldn't be more pleased to be a part of such a wonderful endeavor. This year I'll be happily serving on the first round panel for the young adult science fiction and fantasy categoryHere's our team this year--a very fine one I must say:


Steve Berman, Guys Lit Wire
Tanita Davis, Finding Wonderland
Leila Roy, Bookshelves of Doom
Sheila Ruth, Wands and Worlds
Angie Thompson, Angieville
Hallie Tibbetts, Undusty New Books
Heather Zundel, Secret Adventures of WriterGirl


Nominations get going in a little less than a month now. What books will you be looking to nominate this year? For my part, I can't wait to get started. Let the deluge begin!

Comments

  1. wow Angie, thats amazing! I'm trying so hard to try and think up a book that falls in that category and not coming up with much. I did however really really love Mistwood, such amazing writing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I loved Cold Magic - that would get my vote! I'm looking forward to seeing which books get nominated!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oooh you're a Cybils panelist! How fun! It must take a lot of work though. I can't imagine how many books you have to read and discuss for this.

    ReplyDelete
  4. That's so brilliant that your a panelist! I hope you enjoy it :)

    I'm a new follower, by the way...I found your blog at Amelia (Imagination in Focus). Have a great weekend :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I saw on their blog that you were going to be a panelist. And first round again? Lots of reading till you drop right? Best of luck!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Aw I wish I'd been able to participate this year. It really stinks that I can't. But at least I know you guys are on it! I'll be happily reading your reviews and seeing what happens!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Congratulations! I hear it's a lot of fun and hard work. I'm excited to be on the judging panel for YA!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Congratulations Angie! This should be your category!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Congratulations! You definitely need to be on this panel! (As well as the others, just an awesome set of reviewers!)

    I'm so excited to be judging for the Picture Book category for the first time this year. I have no idea what to expect exactly, but I know what I want to nominate! :o)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Carla, Mistwood's a great choice! Should definitely be nominated.

    Heather, me too. I love watching all the nominations roll in.

    Chachic, lol. Yeah. The Round 1 panelists end up reading A LOT of books. I'm rolling up my sleeves as we speak...

    Melissa, wonderful! So happy you stopped by. I'm very excited to participate again this year. Will keep you guys posted on the progress.

    Michelle, that about sums it up. Will try not to drop on any hard surface this time. hehe.

    Sami, I wish you could too! It was great fun last year working with you.

    Michelle, woo-hoo! I'm excited for you, too. It's a ton of work but very, very satisfying on the whole.

    Em, thanks! I'm happy to be involved again. Such great people.

    1stdaughter, it is a great set. I love each of the other judges. I'm so glad you're on the picture book category this year. You are going to LOVE it! I already know what I want to nominate in that category as well. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Every year I consider applying to be a panelist, but living abroad makes it too difficult for me to get the books. Have fun!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Lenore, you would love it. I'm sorry the distance thing is a factor. I'll try to have enough fun for the both of us. lol.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan