Skip to main content

If Andy Warhol Had a Girlfriend by Alison Pace

I've been hearing about this book for what seems like awhile now. I'd never run across it until Ari from Emily and Her Little Pink Notes started talking it up as a diamond in the rough. She has such similar taste to my own that I rather suspected at that point I would someday be seeking this one out. Then Lit Snit featured it on their BBAW Unexpected Treasure post and those suspicions turned into beliefs. Finally I broke down and searched my library's catalog. They had it in! So I grabbed it on my way to work that day and settled into bed with it that night. I went in expecting chick lit with a splash of art history thrown in for good measure and I read it in one sitting that night.

Jane Laine works for the most notorious art gallery owner in Manhattan. Possibly in the whole of the art world. She remembers a time when she loved and understood art and why it pushed her into pursuing a degree and a career in the field. But almost every ounce of joy in what she does has been systematically sucked out of her by her rapacious and reptilian boss. Coming off the heels of a particularly devastating break-up, she flubs up a particularly delicate situation at work and is sure she'll be fired without a by your leave. Instead, she is sent on a unique sort of venture with Dick Reese's primo client--the current darling of the art world--Ian Rhys-Fitzsimmons. Jane is to accompany Ian on a five-month-long international art tour and see to his every need. Mystified but counting her blessings, she sets out wondering how she'll manage to spend five months with a man she does not like and whose art she does not understand. Fortunately, fate has a few surprises in store for her and the trip does not go the way she thought it would. On so many levels.

Ari was right. This is smart and fun and not exactly what you'd expect from the title or the cover. I think what I enjoyed most was Jane's observations on her travels and the effect being in those countries had on her. The way Rome changed her perspective was particularly moving to me as I have lived in Italy several times and love it with a deep and unfathomable sort of love. I was so jealous she was there and I was not! And like Ian tells Jane in that perfect quote from Wuthering Heights:
I could fancy a love for life here almost possible.

That's it. That's tears-in-my-eyes it! How Italy makes me feel. How wonderful to encounter just the right sentiment in this light and lovely book about an art gallery manager in search of something or some place or someone to remind her why life is worth living. We all need those reminders every so often and Jane had gone for quite long enough without some spark in her life. It was fun watching her fumble around and find it again. If Andy Warhol Had a Girlfriend is the kind of book I could hand anyone, without worrying at all. It's a sweet, fast read and it leaves you feeling good about life and love and the human capacity to both create and appreciate beauty. I laughed several times and smiled more. If you're looking for a warm and thoughtful way to spend an evening, Alison Pace's debut novel is an excellent way to go.


Linkage
Chick Lit Books
Dear Author Review
Emily and Her Little Pink Notes Review
The Velvet Sea Review

Comments

  1. Oh sounds like a great read! Thanks

    ReplyDelete
  2. "You are my moors, you are my Rome" might be the most romantic line ever. Still makes me slightly teary, I'm embarrassed to admit.

    I'm so glad you liked it. I'm still thanking Emily for recommending it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous10:29 AM

    I'm glad you liked it!

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow, now I really can't wait to read this! I could use a little art and travel around Europe myself. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. It does really sound good...really good...sort of like the Anna Wintertour book about fashion...

    ReplyDelete
  6. This one has been in my wishlist ever since Ari started recommending it. Forgot to ask about it when I went to the bookstore yesterday but I'll ask again when I go back! I'm always up for fun and light reads like this.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds absolutely fun! My first love in books is chick lit, but it's been a while since I found really good ones. This seems like one I'd really enjoy too. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous1:25 AM

    Angie I am so glad you liked it, I personally love that Andy Warhol's quote, the one that says that we should fall in love with our eyes closed which I couldn't agree more

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous4:10 AM

    I remember Emily mentioning this book and it has been on my wishlist ever since!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Maggie9:56 PM

    so glad you reviewed this. it is the book that introduced me to andy warhol and his fantastic quotes and art. i loved it and will have to reread

    ReplyDelete
  11. Cari, you bet. I thought it was very cute.

    Alison, yeah, it's worth it when you're in the mood for something sweet.

    Erin, lol. There are just several great lines in this one.

    Karen, I definitely did. Good read for a good time.

    Holly, have you started it yet? You got several good ones at once, I know.

    Patty, *grin*. I haven't read that one.

    Chachic, I'm glad I looked it up based on Ari's rec. I wouldn't have otherwise, I'm sure.

    Tina, ooh, since it's your first love do you have any great ones to recommend?

    Ari, it's a great quote. I liked all of them, but especially the very last one! :)

    Iris, yeah, it's a good 'un.

    Carla, hehe. Excellent.

    Maggie, how wonderful. I have a husband who's a Warhol admirer so found out lots about him through him. And the Velvet Underground, of course. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …