Skip to main content

Make Me Feel Better Books: A List

I had such a great response to my question about your favorite "make me feel better" books! It delighted me to no end. I also had several people ask to see the list and so for those of you who didn't get a chance to glance through the comments I decided to compile them here in list format. The better to add to your TBR, my dears! Seriously, what I'd love is a series of Retro Friday reviews from you guys on each of these books. They are obviously near and dear to your hearts and I'd love to hear more on why. I enjoyed seeing how many of you named the same authors, the same books, and I wholeheartedly agree on anything by Robin McKinley, Sharon Shinn, Mary Stewart, Megan Whalen Turner, Tamora Pierce, Jane Austen, Eva Ibbotson, Diana Peterfruend, and the Brontes. Me being me, I'd go ahead and add Ellen Emerson White, Juliet Marillier, and Lloyd Alexander to the list. Just for good measure! So I hope you enjoy the list below. Amazing, isn't it?!

Make Me Feel Better Books


The Mitford Series by Jan Karon (Kate)
The Lymond Chronicles by Dorothy Dunnett (Alexandra)
Dragon Prince by Melane Rawn, Star of the Guardians series by Margaret Weiss, and anything by Sharon Shinn (Sunny)
The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley (celi.a, catherinecw, Tiffany M., farrarwilliams)
Sabriel by Garth Nix, Phoenix and Ashes by Mercedes Lackey, Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, & anything by Louisa May Alcott, L.M. Montgomery, and Gene Stratton Porter (celi.a)
•The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (catherinecw, MsM, Emily, Becky)
•The Song of the Lioness quartet by Tamora Pierce (catherinecwJen)
Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen (catherinecw)
Fortune and Fate by Sharon Shinn, Chalice by Robin McKinley, The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett, and On the Edge by Ilona Andrews (LinWash)
The Good Luck Girl by Kerry Reichs (Sabrina)
•Anything by Nora Roberts or Linda Howard (Sabrina, MsM)
The Blue Castle by LM Montgomery (mainhoonemily, Raspberry)
Home Cooking and More Home Cooking by Laurie Colwin, Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, and Nine Coaches Waiting or Thornyhold by Mary Stewart (mainhoonemily)
The Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder (MsM, Emily)
Anything by Charlaine Harris (MsM)
Archangel by Sharon Shinn (Tiffany M., heidenkind)
Angelica by Sharon Shinn, Juniper by Monica Furlong,  Time Enough for Drums by Ann Rinaldi, When He Was Wicked by Julia Quinn (Tiffany M.)
Early Janet Evanovich books (Brenda)
Siddartha by Herman Hesse and the Belgariad and Malorian series by David Eddings (heather)
Howl's Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones (Sandy Shin)
Night Train to Memphis by Elizabeth Peters, anything by Christina Dodd (heidenkind)
Anything by Mary Stewart (heidenkind, Kaethe)
The Princess Bride by William Goldman (Princess Allie, Jen) 
Anything by Kelley Armstrong (Princess Allie)
Anything by Megan Whalen Turner, Robin McKinley, and Sherwood Smith (Chachic)
Anything by Diana Wynne Jones (Chachic and DarlaD)
Mystic & Rider by Sharon Shinn (Emily)
The Secret World of Og by Pierre Berton (Jen)
North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell, anything by Mary Hooper, Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte, and anything by Eva Ibbotson (Raspberry)
The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner (Lizzy)
•Anything by Dorothy Dunnett, Patrick O'Brien, and Georgette Heyer (Linda Gillard)
Dreaming in Black and White and Dreaming in Technicolor by Laura Jensen Walker, Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen, Belong to Me by Marisa delos Santos, Happyface by Stephen Emond, and A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett (Tina)
I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith (farrarwilliams)
The Death In . . . books by M.M. Kaye (Misti, mainhoonemily)
The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford (Alexa)
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher, To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis (Kaethe)
Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes, The Secret Society Girl series by Diana Peterfreund, the first three Pink Carnation books by Lauren Willig (Erin)
Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell and anything by Meg Cabot (Becky)

Comments

  1. I love so many of those books :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm pretty sure I don't disagree with any of those books. It's a fabulous list.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is awesome! I'm going to print it out. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Uh oh... my TBR list officially hates this post. Lots of titles on there I've never read and there are plenty of days when I need a comfort read!

    ReplyDelete
  5. So many good books in this list! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love the idea of the list.
    I will definitely check out some of the choices because you can never have too many "make me feel better" - books

    ReplyDelete
  7. This is a wonderful resource. Thank you! Linking to it on my FB page...

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous5:15 PM

    I bookmarked this list, it's great, I am re-reading Cold Comfort Past, your post was an inspiration ...plus I am finally watching North and South (BBC) right now and I am thinking "why have I not seen this before?"

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan