Skip to main content

My Favorite Thieves

Earlier today I ran across a list of favorite fictional thieves put together by Julie over at A Small Accomplishment. Love the name of her blog, by the way! Well, you can imagine how my mind immediately took off, conjuring up the familiar, battered faces of my own favorite ne'er-do-wells. So just for fun, here they are (in alphabetical order), the top five, with all their expansive charm, dubious glory, and inescapable claims on my heart:

Eugenides 
The Queen's Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner
George Cooper 
The Song of the Lioness quartet by Tamora Pierce
Liesel Meminger 
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Mickle 
The Westmark trilogy by Lloyd Alexander
Robin Hood 
The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley and Lady of the Forest by Jennifer Roberson

Who are your favorite thieves? I'd love to add a few more rascals to the list...

Comments

  1. I love Gen! Awesome character.

    And if movie characters count, I have to include Flynn Rider from Tangled.

    I like a thief with a bit of heart.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous4:42 PM

    Silk - and all his other names - from the Belgariad and Mallorean by David Eddings.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Locke Lamora and Jean Tanner from The Gentleman Bastards series by Scott Lynch

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yay for Gen and George Cooper! I really should read the other books in your list so I can get to know those characters.

    Elizabeth E. Wein's Telemakos is not really a thief but he reminds me of Gen and he's great at sneaking around so I wanted to mention him.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really liked Digger from Elizabeth Bunce's newer novel StarStruck. She wrote a pretty excellent fantasy.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The Gray Mouser, from Leiber's Lankhmar tales, the original trickster thief.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Tiffany M.9:15 PM

    I know I am missing a few, and now I am anxious to read a couple of these, but here is a few thieves I enjoyed reading about that weren't on your list:

    Karvonen from Patricia C. Wrede's The Raven Ring

    different than the rest, but I really enjoyed this (and a girl to represent!)--Kat from Ally Carter's Heist Society

    My friend used to mention Skif from Mercedes Lackey's Arrows of the Queen series. It's in my TBR pile.

    **I know I am missing a couple, but those are the ones that immediately come to mind.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous12:48 AM

    Another vote for Locke Lamora, I think. Although, I would admit to Calo and Galdo but look what he did (sniff). Also a deep abiding nostalgia for Silk from David Eddings' work, even though it is David Eddings.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Tasselhoff in Dragonlance is definitely my favorite thief of all time. It's not his fault he's a Kender :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anonymous7:55 AM

    Oh Gen, how you stole our hearts :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Will "The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood" (1883), written and illustrated by Pyle count?

    ReplyDelete
  12. WOOT for Eugenides in The King of Attolia!

    I second the mention of Digger in StarCrossed... I'm looking forward to continuing her story in Liar's Moon.

    And ROBIN HOOD, of course! Particularly Robin McKinley's The Outlaws of Sherwood... I love that somewhat sulky version of our outlawed hero. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan