Skip to main content

My Favorite Thieves

Earlier today I ran across a list of favorite fictional thieves put together by Julie over at A Small Accomplishment. Love the name of her blog, by the way! Well, you can imagine how my mind immediately took off, conjuring up the familiar, battered faces of my own favorite ne'er-do-wells. So just for fun, here they are (in alphabetical order), the top five, with all their expansive charm, dubious glory, and inescapable claims on my heart:

Eugenides 
The Queen's Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner
George Cooper 
The Song of the Lioness quartet by Tamora Pierce
Liesel Meminger 
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Mickle 
The Westmark trilogy by Lloyd Alexander
Robin Hood 
The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley and Lady of the Forest by Jennifer Roberson

Who are your favorite thieves? I'd love to add a few more rascals to the list...

Comments

  1. I love Gen! Awesome character.

    And if movie characters count, I have to include Flynn Rider from Tangled.

    I like a thief with a bit of heart.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous4:42 PM

    Silk - and all his other names - from the Belgariad and Mallorean by David Eddings.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Locke Lamora and Jean Tanner from The Gentleman Bastards series by Scott Lynch

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yay for Gen and George Cooper! I really should read the other books in your list so I can get to know those characters.

    Elizabeth E. Wein's Telemakos is not really a thief but he reminds me of Gen and he's great at sneaking around so I wanted to mention him.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really liked Digger from Elizabeth Bunce's newer novel StarStruck. She wrote a pretty excellent fantasy.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The Gray Mouser, from Leiber's Lankhmar tales, the original trickster thief.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Tiffany M.9:15 PM

    I know I am missing a few, and now I am anxious to read a couple of these, but here is a few thieves I enjoyed reading about that weren't on your list:

    Karvonen from Patricia C. Wrede's The Raven Ring

    different than the rest, but I really enjoyed this (and a girl to represent!)--Kat from Ally Carter's Heist Society

    My friend used to mention Skif from Mercedes Lackey's Arrows of the Queen series. It's in my TBR pile.

    **I know I am missing a couple, but those are the ones that immediately come to mind.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous12:48 AM

    Another vote for Locke Lamora, I think. Although, I would admit to Calo and Galdo but look what he did (sniff). Also a deep abiding nostalgia for Silk from David Eddings' work, even though it is David Eddings.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Tasselhoff in Dragonlance is definitely my favorite thief of all time. It's not his fault he's a Kender :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anonymous7:55 AM

    Oh Gen, how you stole our hearts :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Will "The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood" (1883), written and illustrated by Pyle count?

    ReplyDelete
  12. WOOT for Eugenides in The King of Attolia!

    I second the mention of Digger in StarCrossed... I'm looking forward to continuing her story in Liar's Moon.

    And ROBIN HOOD, of course! Particularly Robin McKinley's The Outlaws of Sherwood... I love that somewhat sulky version of our outlawed hero. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …