Skip to main content

Wednesday Stops

And in links of awesome today . . .

Sarah Rees Brennan is handing out summer book recommendations and I am paying attention. "They made each other laugh through being funny and terrible." Uh . . . yes, please. "People who are staggering around being staggeringly crazy in love?" Hm . . . don't mind if I do.

Ever since the Mythopoeic Society honored Sunshine a few years back, I've known they had excellent taste. They proved it again this week by handing out their annual award for Children's Literature to . . . the Queen's Thief series! Well done, Mythopoeic Society. Well. Freaking. Done.

Lastly, the Bookaholics Romance Book Club has a great interview up with Moira Moore, plus a giveaway. The release of Heroes at Odds is literally just around the corner now (praise be), and Moira discusses all kinds of good stuff related to Taro, Lee, and the series.

Enjoy!

Comments

  1. Here's a rec: Daughter of Smoke & Bone, by Laini Taylor. Kind of like a grown up His Dark Materials.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Okay. You are literally the third person to recommend that book to me in a 24 hour period. Must acquire.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I LOVED that interview with Moira J. Moore. So good! But only one more book? *sobs*

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is a completely random and possibly impertinent question, but I will ask it anyway. Have you ever read Ella Enchanted? With the exception of Diana Wynne Jones, I find that we share almost the exact same favorite authors and books (this is actually how I found your blog. Every time I typed in a book I liked, Angieville popped up), and as Ella Enchanted has been a favorite ever since I was young, I wondered if you've ever read it. It's a fairy tale retelling, so I thought it'd be right up your ally. However, I don't remember ever reading even the slightest mention of Ella in any of your blog posts. It's something I've thought about for awhile now...Er...perhaps to make this seem less rude, I'll just add that I love your blog. You're a great writer. You add a lot of depth and feeling to your reviews, and even in your simplest blog posts it's very clear how much you love books and reading. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Michelle, wasn't it great?! And I know. I was surprised that the end of the series is imminent as well. And now I'm very curious to see how she'll wrap it all up.

    Lizzy, what a kind comment to leave. You really made my day! And the answer to your question is very simple--no. I've never read it. I know! The horror... I think I've stayed away because it's so clearly beloved and I was afraid I wouldn't love it, too. But your wholehearted recommendation is making me think I need to give it a shot right away. I even own a copy! lol.

    Out of curiosity, what did you think of the movie adaptation? I think I saw the first few minutes of it and wasn't thrilled.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooh Angie I've heard horrible things about the movie don't watch it. :D Just read.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's