Skip to main content

Wednesday Stops

And in links of awesome today . . .

Sarah Rees Brennan is handing out summer book recommendations and I am paying attention. "They made each other laugh through being funny and terrible." Uh . . . yes, please. "People who are staggering around being staggeringly crazy in love?" Hm . . . don't mind if I do.

Ever since the Mythopoeic Society honored Sunshine a few years back, I've known they had excellent taste. They proved it again this week by handing out their annual award for Children's Literature to . . . the Queen's Thief series! Well done, Mythopoeic Society. Well. Freaking. Done.

Lastly, the Bookaholics Romance Book Club has a great interview up with Moira Moore, plus a giveaway. The release of Heroes at Odds is literally just around the corner now (praise be), and Moira discusses all kinds of good stuff related to Taro, Lee, and the series.

Enjoy!

Comments

  1. Here's a rec: Daughter of Smoke & Bone, by Laini Taylor. Kind of like a grown up His Dark Materials.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Okay. You are literally the third person to recommend that book to me in a 24 hour period. Must acquire.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I LOVED that interview with Moira J. Moore. So good! But only one more book? *sobs*

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is a completely random and possibly impertinent question, but I will ask it anyway. Have you ever read Ella Enchanted? With the exception of Diana Wynne Jones, I find that we share almost the exact same favorite authors and books (this is actually how I found your blog. Every time I typed in a book I liked, Angieville popped up), and as Ella Enchanted has been a favorite ever since I was young, I wondered if you've ever read it. It's a fairy tale retelling, so I thought it'd be right up your ally. However, I don't remember ever reading even the slightest mention of Ella in any of your blog posts. It's something I've thought about for awhile now...Er...perhaps to make this seem less rude, I'll just add that I love your blog. You're a great writer. You add a lot of depth and feeling to your reviews, and even in your simplest blog posts it's very clear how much you love books and reading. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Michelle, wasn't it great?! And I know. I was surprised that the end of the series is imminent as well. And now I'm very curious to see how she'll wrap it all up.

    Lizzy, what a kind comment to leave. You really made my day! And the answer to your question is very simple--no. I've never read it. I know! The horror... I think I've stayed away because it's so clearly beloved and I was afraid I wouldn't love it, too. But your wholehearted recommendation is making me think I need to give it a shot right away. I even own a copy! lol.

    Out of curiosity, what did you think of the movie adaptation? I think I saw the first few minutes of it and wasn't thrilled.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooh Angie I've heard horrible things about the movie don't watch it. :D Just read.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …