Skip to main content

New Year's Pretties


I'm quite excited for these three, you guys. They hail from two favorite authors of mine and one newcomer. They each look rather dark in their own way and just like excellent ways to start off next year's reading.

The Shape of Desire by Sharon Shinn
Ever since I heard the fabulous Sharon Shinn was working on an urban fantasy, I've been walking around with a tingle of anticipation running down my spine. Then I ran across the cover the other day and that tingle got upgraded to a full-fledged shiver. Love the girl's pose on the log, love the creepy wolf who seems to be channeling Gmork--the werewolf from The Neverending Story. Given how I love her take on angels, I can hardly wait to read her take on werewolves. Due out April 3rd.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
The first in the Lunar Chronicles, this futuristic debut novel is also the first in a quartet. Don't you love quartets? They put me in mind of the Alanna books and, therefore, all good things. On top of that this cover is slowly killing me with its awesome and as far as I can tell, the book itself needs little introduction. All I really feel the need to say is: Cyborg. Cinderella. Are you with me? Due out January 3rd.

Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale
And it would seem we're heading back to Austenland for another visit. This time with a new and different Austen addict and an added mystery for good measure. Charlotte Kinder is addicted to Jane Austen, recently divorced, and in need of a good vacation. So off to Pembroke Park she heads and hi jinks, one would assume, ensue. Though it's not my favorite of her books, I liked Ms. Hale's Austenland just fine and find myself up for this companion novel. Due out January 31st.

Comments

  1. I'm so glad you mentioned Sharon Shinn's latest book. I hadn't been on her web site lately, so I'm thrilled to bits that she has another book coming out in the spring. I loved TROUBLED WATERS so I can't wait for this and the other two books. Love Shannon Hale! And Cinder sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  2. APRIL?! I can't wait until APRIL for a new Sharon Shinn!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ahh, it's Austenland again! Love Shannon Hale, so I'll definitely have to keep an eye on that, thanks. :) Cyborn Cinderella FTW.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm so excited about the new Shinn, I hadn't heard about it yet!

    I think Cinder sounds awesome too, I'm looking forward to it.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous6:26 PM

    Eeek! What is this with cyborg cinderella? It's totally feeding into the geeky romantic in me!

    --Sharry

    PS- robots and romance reminds me also of The Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee, which was soooo good!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I hadn't really heard of the Sharon Shinn one but it looks great! TOTALLY understanding the Neverending story reference. Man, I hated and loved that movie as a kid. The dragon gives me the creeps but I totally wanted to be the white princess!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Lin, I know! I'm fairly vibrating with excitement.

    yen, yeah, it's waaaaay too far away.

    Jenn, doesn't it just have a ring to it? Cyborg Cinderella. Awesome.

    Allison, I really can't wait.

    Sharry, see, that one's been on my TBR forever and I just keep not getting around to it. Seems like everyone who's read it loves it.

    Scarlett, oh, I had the same reaction. Utter love and utter terror.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I had NO idea Sharon Shinn had a book coming out, but I would like to know how in the WORLD we are supposed to wait until April!

    Also, any idea if she's planning anymore Samaria novels?

    ReplyDelete
  9. LOVE UF. Love the cover for The Shape of Desire, and I especially love your NES reference! April is a long time away

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ohh, atmospheric! I did like AUSTENLAND and that there is a sequel did not show up on my radar (WHY didn't it show up on my radar?!?), so thank you for pointing MIDNIGHT IN AUSTENLAND out. I want it.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Joanna, April is really too much to expect of us, isn't it? And I live in hope of new Samaria novels, but I haven't heard a thing.

    bibliphile, grin. Always time for a good NES reference. :)

    Janice, lol. You're welcome.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Ooh, I just recently read Austenland and really enjoyed it. I'll definitely be up to reading the companion!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Anonymous11:47 AM

    I would definitely be willing to give Midnight in Austenland a try. I like the first one well enough, and a little austen fan fiction is always a good time ;)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Melanie, yay!

    librarian, this is how I feel as well. :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh. I'm so there for the Shinn. I really need to read more of her backlist. So many books so little time. And Midnight in Austenland? I remember hearing about it but this is the first time I've seen the cover. Me likes. Thanks for the headsup as always. :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Anonymous12:34 AM

    Excited for CINDER! I really like these posts where you feature upcoming books. I always add them to my to-read list :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. Holly, I know. I am so looking forward to the Shinn.

    Emily, I'm so glad they're useful!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan