Skip to main content

BBAW: Community

It's the first day of Book Blogger Appreciation Week again! I love this week and look forward to browsing through all the lovely posts each year. Today we're talking about blogs that have made a difference to us. I wanted to highlight A Jane of All Reads--a blog that I've really loved and spent a lot of time frequenting in the past year. 
In case you can't read the fine print, Laura's tagline reads,
 . . . in which we just keep falling hopelessly in love with very good books and every now and again form very sensible and respectable relationships . . . with vampires.
Ahhhh. It was this tagline (and the original name of the blog--Life After Jane) that first drew me to Laura's site, and it was her hilarious and utterly honest reviews that kept me coming back. That and the fact that she fell in love with Richard Armitage and North and South shortly after I did, so we fangirled bonded all over the place on that. Everything about this blog delights. I get a kick out of her her excellent review labels: loved it lived it miss it, so-so, fantabulousness, borrow don't buy, and my personal favorite--makes bunnies cry. And I get an excellent sense of whether or not a book is for me after reading her review of it. So if you haven't discovered this little corner of awesome in your bookish rambles, I suggest you do so immediately. Thanks for all the laughs, Laura.

Comments

  1. What a great post! And I can't wait to head over and check out the site. My list of influential bloggers, if you are interested!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've never heard of this blog, but it sounds fabulous! Love the tag line. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. not heard of so thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  4. What an adorable site! Thank you for sending me her way! I can't wait to read more of her reviews! :o)

    ReplyDelete
  5. You are so awesome, you exist on your own separate special plane of awesome.

    Thank you so much for this.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Trisha, enjoy it over there!

    heidenkind, yeah, there was no way I wasn't sticking around when I read that line. And she really does a fabulous job.

    parrish, you're welcome.

    Danielle, my pleasure, believe me. Everything about it is adorable.

    Laura, as do you, my friend.

    ReplyDelete
  7. A love her tagline too! Brilliant. And Laura's personality, if at all possible, outshines it! Great post.

    ReplyDelete
  8. OMG - with a tagline like that, I am DEFINITELY going to check her out right now. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's