Skip to main content

One for the Money Trailer

I ran across this trailer for the upcoming movie based on the first book in Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series over at the excellent Bookyurt and had to share it here. This one's been a long time in the making. I discovered these books at a somewhat trying time in life, and they brought a lot of laughter and fun into my long days. And while the series itself has grown too long-winded for words, I will be going to see Stephanie, Lula, and the gang on the big screen. Even if they did cast Katherine Heigl. *sigh* 
So what do you think Plum fans? Yay or nay?

Comments

  1. I can't stand Katherine Heigl, but I'll probably see this it looks entertaining enough

    ReplyDelete
  2. you know, I am actually thinking this could be pretty decent. It's probably just my love for Stephanie Plum coming through.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I didn't really like Katherine as Stephanie but that was a pretty good trailer. I'm actually excited for the movie now! Thanks for posting it, I didn't even know the trailer was out.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like Katherine Heigl but she doesn't exactly seem like the type to be Stephanie Plum. Maybe it''ll take some time to get used to seeing her as that character...but the trailer does look pretty good!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've been pretty nervous to watch this trailer cause really? Katherine Heigl? But it looks promising. Mainly I just want Grandma and Lula to be dead hilarious.

    Sadly, I'm guessing they aren't going to have Stephanie running around in classic Stephanie outfits like spandex shorts and baggy jerseys...

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oooo Heigl? There doesn't seem to be an awful lot of love for her, but the trailer definitely has me sold on seeing the movie, so long as it has Grandma Mazur and Lulu in it I'll be happy as a clam.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't read the books but the movie looks cute and I know the books are usually better.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm so glad you posted this, I hadn't seen it yet!

    I'm looking forward to this a lot, I love Katherine Heigl :)

    The good thing about this CRAZY LONG SERIES is that they can basically make it into...what do you think? two (MAYBE 3) movies and include absolutely all the plot development from the 17+ books.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous2:12 AM

    I... don't think I've seen Katherine Heigl in anything that has stuck in my memory so I'm not too worried about it in general. I might change my mind when I go to see it.

    Like you, Angie, the books came to me at a very trying time in life and I started with book 3 (which I think was good because the writing in book 1 wouldn't have had me running back for more). I now own them all up until book 13ish, more or less, and they're some of the only books I have in used form because I wanted them so badly, I snapped them up as soon as I saw them. I am sad to hear the series got more convoluted as it went on; I checked out early I think out of an unconscious desire to avoid Anita Blake Syndrome should it appear, but I love the books so hard.

    At first when I saw the trailer, I was a little "!!!" about Morelli and Ranger but by the end of the trailer I was squealing. I am so glad they avoided obvious casting choices like David Boringaz for Morelli because it could have gone badly. - Elle

    ReplyDelete
  10. I am cautiously optimistic after seeing the trailer, although I am not sold on the choice of Heigel. Never mind!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I think it looks like it could be pretty fun. Katherine Heigl isn't anything like what I think of Stephanie Plum, but since I got tired of the books after #4 or 5, I'm willing to give her a shot.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I was worried when I heard the rumor that this would be a TV show. Movie, I can handle. I couldn't read past the first book in this series, but the trailer looks more appetizing than I found the books to be.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Not a Katherine Heigl fan at all but after seeing the trailer I almost think she's gonna be able to pull it off. I really don't give a flip if she does or not since I'm only going to watch Jason O'Mara score a big WIN for Team Morelli.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Rebs, agreed.

    Alicia, I have high hopes of much fond laughter. :)

    Kristina, that's how I feel about it. She's not right, but the whole thing looks fun.

    Sandy, exactly.

    Michelle, lol. You're probably right. But I'm with you on Grandma and Lula. hehehe.

    Holly, and me.

    Jenny, the book is a bit grittier actually. But just the first one. They get progressively lighter and funnier from there on out.

    Allison, so true. I mean each book takes place over a period of--what--a week? Maybe? lol.

    Elle, I feel the same way about her. She's rather pleasantly forgettable. It's nice to hear you read these at the right time as well. I simply tore through them, incredibly relieved to be laughing so hard. It's funny you mention the Anita books. I checked out of them veeeeery early on after having heard how nutjob they got. The Plums didn't get crazy, they merely got formulaic. Also, no choosing between Morelli and Ranger. I'm all for the hotness of those two, but come on! A girl's gotta choose eventually. And I felt the same way by the end of the trailer. HUGE grin on my face...

    Marg, I'm in perfect agreement with you.

    Misti, this is how I should go into it. Willing to give her a shot.

    Janice, the first is the hardest to read, I think. But you do have to be in the mood for mindless entertainment and hilarious antics. I'm also very glad it's a movie and not a series.

    Laura, I hope you're right. So you're a cupcake, eh? I'm really more of a babe, myself . . . probably best we don't have to fight over them. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  15. I can't wait. I know, Kathrine isn't who I would cast as Steph. but God. This movie will be something to laugh at. Either if it bombs (which I hope not) or it it rocks. Its going to be funny

    ReplyDelete
  16. I tried to read the books and did not like them. The movie looks a bit more intersting.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Kristen might not be that bad. She's so annoying because she gets casts in annoying roles. Relieved of that burden, I'm hoping she's all right.

    What was the male lead's name? I'm blanking on it, but I've liked his work

    ReplyDelete
  18. Anonymous6:33 PM

    Unfortunately, I'll have to pass. I really can't watch K Heigl in anything. I usually like Jason O' Mara, but I don't like the accent he's using for this and reminds me of a demented Mel Gibson! KarenS

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan